Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Vinegar
0

8 posts in this topic

I was wondering what types of vinegar are ok. I know that cider, wine and balsamic are alright, but what about distilled?

Thanks- Laurie in CT

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

The only way it is safe is if you can confirm that the source of the vinegar was gluten free (like corn), and not from a gluten grain like wheat, or barley, which are much more common forms of distilled vinegar. You can call the company and ask if you have a particular brand in mind (or in hand!).

Otherwise, it is best to just use the vinegars you listed that are gluten-free.

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to scientists and to virtually all of the major celiac groups, distilled vinegar is gluten-free no matter what the source because the distilling removes the poison. In addition, almost NO vinegars are made from wheat. You'd have to search hard to find a product made from wheat distilled vinegar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only vinegars that you would need to avoid are malt vinegars or any vinegars that are made outside of the United States. Other countries do not have the same standards or restrictions that the US does so that is true of almost everything - if it comes from outside the US be very careful.

Heinz is one brand that labels gluted so you can use Heinz vinegar and any of their products that contain vinegar (ketchup for example) without worry.

The safety of vinegar used to be a pretty heated debate but scientists and nutritionists agree that the distilling process makes it gluten-free.

(FYI, I am a fairly new Celiac so I have been spending a great deal of time researching the diet and two suggestions I have for anyone who is searching for definate answers concerning types of food is to stick with hospital and edu sites for your information. They are usually well researched and carefully thought out answers. Also - be sure to check the date of the information. One of the not so great things about searching on the internet is that you can still find info that was posted 5 years ago and it comes up on your screen as though it were hot off the presses. :rolleyes: )

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Suzn is correct.

Unfortunately, there is this persisting belief that vinegars are a problem. Other than malt vinegar, they are fine. The distilling process ensures they are gluten free.

Kim. gluten-free for 5 years

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I share the old belief that vinegar is a taboo. I am sure it's because not all vinegar containing products use distilled vinegar. Has anyone had a different experience?

I know that apple cider and wine vinegar is fine. I didn't know that about Balsamic. I suspect that once, when I was newly diagnosed that I had Balsamic vinegar and developed a mild wheeze. However, I can't say with certainty that it was the vinegar. I avoid it now. So when shopping for sauces do I need to look for distilled vinegar in the ingredients? I know Heinz Ketchup and Hellmann's Mayonnaise do not say distilled vinegar in the ingredients but the vinegar is distilled.

By the way, according to French's website their mustard is gluten-free.

Also, Seeds of Change makes a gluten-free rice and beans that is tasty!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe I have read that in the US, if a label lists plain "vinegar" as an ingredient, it MUST be referring to apple cider vinegar. I wonder if this is still true, now that distilled vinegar has become cheaper than cider vinegar!

Also, some inexpensive brands of balsamic vinegar may contain caramel color, which MIGHT make them non-gluten-free. I have had no trouble with "pure" balsamic vinegar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Balsamic vinegar is 100% gluten-free. Assuming, of course, that you are using real balsamic vinegar, and not something that's processed to taste like it. Real balsamic vinegar is produced in a VERY similar fashion to wine, up to and including being aged in wooden barrels, and comes entirely from grapes. (There are a number of places in Italy that make it, of course, and the one we visited in Modena - a small producer, to be sure - was just great. Despite the language barrier, they gave us a wonderful tour of the place and told us a lot about how it's made.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,896
    • Total Posts
      919,537
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Marshmallow Fruity Pebbles
      I have been gluten free now since February and I recently purchased a box of Marshmallows Fruity Pebbles and looked at the ingredients (which none indicated gluten content), but am just wondering if anyone has had a problem with them. 
    • Test Results
      Update: I am about at my wit's end. I won't be able to see my new doctor until July 17 to get a referral to a GI doctor, so I continue to eat gluten and the effects continue to worsen. Today my boss, whom I have been working with for 12 years, and I had a meeting where he said he's noticed a change in many things, such as speech, not articulating well, forgetfulness, and other things that are affecting my work product. I finally told him I know there is something wrong with me medically and I've been trying to get to the doctor to no avail. I recall those four weeks early in the year when I tried out gluten free and was beginning to feel much better- more present, more sharp, and then went back on gluten in preparation for the blood test.  I just don't think I can do this gluten thing any longer and am thinking of going cold-turkey gluten free.  I'm 54 years old, am beginning not to care about a diagnosis because I just want to feel better and be able to do what I need to do. Because of how I felt going off of gluten earlier in the year, and eating gluten free when I was on the McDougall plan years ago, and how I feel while doing this gluten challenge, I am pretty convinced that my issue is gluten.  Any words of encouragement would be welcome.  If you've done gluten free and never looked back, tell me about it. 
    • Gardasil
      "I got this vaccination in 2009 when I was 20 and it completely altered my life. Made my celiac disease so much worse, sleep 15-18 hours a day, SIBO, it has completely altered my life since getting this vaccination. My doctor has two twin girls about my age and they both have digestion problems after receiving gardasil Thank you I have a young daughter and have wondered this exact question posed by the poster and your response has given me great pause about this issue which may come up in years to come. I am sorry to hear this wreak havoc on your life, but simultaneously thank you for sharing this detail to help those of us that have likely been decades misdiagnosed celiacs now raising children. Thank you.
    • Gluten does WHAT to the brain?
      "Wondering what kind of life my brother could have had - if  he had celiac - constantly haunts me" My sympathies that is just tragic, as this story is.  I hope you are at peace knowing you are aware of your celiac and help so many lost, scared, and confused celiacs here. It can never bring back your brother but I hope it can give soften some of what you feel that was/is beyond your control. His suffering and your loss has made you a better advocate to yourself and in your work helping us. I don't like my body or my  brain on gluten either. I do fear that people overlook the toll inflammation takes on the brain. It likely may explain decades of mental illness that was brain based inflammation unknown until changes in technology advancement catch up. However consuming gluten to study how one enters psychosis may not be the best method. Do no harm.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,943
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    purplerain
    Joined