Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Gluten-Free Cocktails with Malibu Rum

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Looking for some great gluten-free cocktails with Malibu Rum? Look no further.

    Gluten-Free Cocktails with Malibu Rum - Image: CC BY 2.0--rubixcuben
    Caption: Image: CC BY 2.0--rubixcuben

    Celiac.com 03/19/2021 - Even in light of the FDA ruling that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free, we get lots of questions about alcohol, especially flavored alcohols, such as Malibu Rum. We recently did an article clarifying that Malibu Rum is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease

    In celebration of the end of winter and the approach of warm weather cocktail season, we'll be looking to include some great gluten-free cocktail recipes for you to enjoy all spring and summer long.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Here are some great gluten-free cocktails that you can make with Malibu Rum Original, and with other Malibu flavors. You can find more gluten-free rum cocktail recipes at the Malibu Rum website.

    Some Great Gluten-Free Cocktails with Malibu Rum:

    Malibu Piña Colada

    Ingredients:

    • 1 part Malibu Original
    • 1½ parts Pineapple juice
    • ½ part Coconut cream

    To Mix:

    • Pour everything into a shaker with ice.
    • Shake well, pour and enjoy!

    Malibu Coconut Water Piña Colada

    For anyone looking for a low calories version of the classic Piña Colada, this is your drink.

    Ingredients:

    • 1½ part Malibu Original
    • 1½ part Coconut water
    • 2 part Pineapple juice
    • ½ part Fresh lime juice

    To Mix:

    • Pour all ingredients into an ice-filled shaker.
    • Shake well and strain into a chilled glass filled with ice cubes.
    • Top up with pineapple juice and a slice of pineapple.

    Malibu Lime Frozen Daiquiri

    Ingredients:

    • 1 part Malibu Lime
    • ½ part Fresh lime juice
    • ½ part Simple syrup
    • (if using Rose's Lime Juice, mix one to one with Malibu Lime)

    To Mix:

    • Blend all ingredients in a blender with ice.
    • Pour into a cocktail glass and top with a slice of lime.
    • Serve immediately.

    Malibu Mojito

    Ingredients:

    • 1 part Malibu Original
    • ⅓ part Fresh lime juice
    • 3 parts Soda water
    • 10 Mint leaves

    To Mix:

    • Muddle the mint leaves and lime juice in a glass.
    • Add ice.
    • Add Malibu Original and top with soda water.
    • Stir gently and serve.

    Malibu & Pineapple

    Ingredients:

    • 1 part Malibu Original
    • 2 parts Pineapple juice

    To Mix:

    • Pour everything into a glass with ice.
    • Enjoy!

    Malibu Bay Breeze

    Ingredients:

    • 1 part Malibu Original
    • 1 part Cranberry juice
    • 1 part Pineapple juice

    To Mix:

    • Pour all the ingredients into a glass with ice.
    • Stir gently.
    • Top with sliced pineapple or other fruit.

    Malibu Lemonade

    For anyone looking to put a spin on the classic Tom Collins, try this version.

    Ingredients:

    • 1 part Malibu Original
    • ⅓ part Lemon juice
    • 2 parts Soda water

    To Mix:

    • Fill a glass with ice cubes.
    • Add Malibu, Fresh Lemon juice and Soda Water.
    • Top off with a wedge of lemon.
       

    Edited by Scott Adams



    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    This is good news for the occasions when "grain-free" alcohol is not available. However, GRAINS Non-organic wheat, oats, barley, buckwheat, millet, and rye all contain glyphosate (herbicide).  One must weight their options.

    Red Bridge beer is made from sorghum, but it too is now exposed to herbicide's. I prefer vodka labeled as "made from potatoes".  I do so love an Omission beer on occasion with its "ultra" version having a mere 4 carbs thereby being "keto" friendly.  

    The other problem is a "rotten" gut in addition to "aging".  Processed foods are not tolerated with the addition of chemically extracted oils (hexane-bleach-defoaming agents-deodorizers that mask the putrefied oils).  Pressed oils are the only ones tolerated.  Preservatives produce diarrhea. Spices are now bugging my gut.  I cook 99.9% of the time. Yeast is a gluten cross-reactor so breads are out!

    I was able to find a restaurant in a small senior community that now serves mostly gluten free foods.  The food was gluten-free but I got "yeasted"!  There are very few food to enjoy, so I have found myself consuming more and more alcohol to put dispel the misery.  

    My life as a celiac can be captioned as this : diarrhea-diarrhea-diarrhea.  I am totally bummed out.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I'm not aware of grain alcohols containing glyphosate, so you need to post a link to info that would back this up. Distillation effectively removes nearly all contaminants, including gluten. 

    I'm sorry to hear you're having so many issues, but feel free to join our forum where others who've dealt with similar issues might be able to offer some advice.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “We commend FDA for this consumer-friendly ruling that will allow ‘gluten-free’ labelling claims to be included on distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains, and urge TTB to act swiftly to align policies allowing the same for distilled spirits products."
    Text of the new FDA ruling reads, in part:
    The change means that manufacturers of distilled foods and beverages can now label their products as gluten-free without explanations about their gluten removal process.
    Gluten-free marketing has long been an issue of contention among regulatory bodies, people with celiac disease, and experts, with most scientists agreeing that the distillation process removes gluten from the final product. Health professionals and celiac support groups, like Celiac.com, and Coeliac UK, have long advised that distilled spirits are gluten-free and safe for celiacs on a gluten-free diet.
    Swonger said that “Allowing distillers to include a "gluten-free" statement on products made from gluten-containing grains will provide additional clarity for consumers to make informed choices about which products meet their dietary needs.”
    The rule will take effect on September 14, 2020.
    Read the full text at FDA.gov  Read more at thespiritbusiness.com Resources:
    Here are some of the most common questions about gluten-free alcoholic beverages. Here's a helpful list of Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 01/22/2021 - We get a lot of questions about alcohol, and one we've seen a lot is about coffee liqueurs, like Kahlúa. We actually did an article specifically on Kahlúa, but those answers apply equally well to any of these brands of coffee liqueurs. 
    While we don't know of any other brands of coffee liqueur that are specifically labeled "Gluten-Free," all of the top brands we've looked at are made without gluten-ingredients, and none list wheat as an allergen. As always, read labels, and avoid anything that you're not sure about.
    That said, Kahlúa, and these other top brands of coffee liqueur can be considered gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. A few, like Mr Black Cold Brew Coffee Liqueur, are even labeled gluten-free: 
    Allen's Coffee Brandy
    Allen's Coffee Brandy is a coffee liqueur popular in New England, especially Maine, where it has been the best-selling liquor product for more than two decades.
    Café Rica
    Café Rica is a thick, sweet coffee liqueur, with the strong flavor of Costa Rican coffee.
    Kahlúa
    Kahlúa is the original and most well known Mexican coffee liqueur.
    Kavalan Distillery Sweet Coffee Liqueur
    Kavalan Distillery Sweet Coffee Liqueur is a coffee liqueur made by Taiwanese whiskey maker Kavalan.
    Kamora
    Mexico's Kamora coffee liqueur is slightly less sweet, and cheaper than its main competitor Kahlúa.
    Licor de café
    Licor de café is a Spanish coffee liqueur that is basically moonshine with coffee flavoring. 
    Midnight Espresso Regular & Decaf Coffee Liqueurs
    Midnight Espresso is a vodka-based coffee liqueur made in small batches using the finest quality Arabica coffee beans, and all-natural ingredients without any additives, flavorings, or colorings. Midnight Espresso is available in Regular & Decaf Coffee versions.
    Mr Black Cold Brew Coffee Liqueur 
    Mr Black Cold Brew Coffee Liqueur is a gluten-free coffee liqueur made with ethically sourced Arabica beans.
    Sheridan's
    Sheridan's is an Irish coffee liqueur that is remarkable for its unique bottle, consisting of two separate sections, separated by glass, but fused together. One side is filled with a black coffee and whiskey flavored liqueur, while the other is filled with a white liqueur of milk white chocolate.
    Sombai Liqueur Anise & Coffee
    Made in Siem Reap, Cambodia, Sombai Liqueur Anise & Coffee is a Cambodian coffee liqueur is a combination of badian (star anise) from Cambodia and Ratanakiri coffee beans.
    Flor de Caña
    Flor de Caña Spresso is a light-bodied, intensely black Nicaraguan coffee liqueur.
    NOLA Coffee Liqueur
    NOLA Coffee Liqueur is made by St. George Spirits. According to the St. George website, NOLA Coffee Liqueur is "an homage to New Orleans–style coffee. Ethiopian Arabica coffee beans, French-roasted chicory root, Madagascar vanilla, and organic cane sugar impart just the right balance of flavors.
    Richardo's Decaf Coffee Liqueur
    Richardo's Decaf Coffee Liqueur is a decaffeinated coffee liqueur made from rich coffee, creamy vanilla and pure grain spirits.
    Tia Maria
    Tia Maria is a dark liqueur made from coffee beans, Jamaican rum, vanilla, and sugar, blended to 20% alcohol content. 
    Toussaint Coffee Liqueur
    Toussaint Coffee Liqueur is a Haitian-style liqueur made with arabica coffee beans, aged three-year rum made from the sugarcane, and a combination of cocoa, vanilla, and licorice flavors.


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 03/02/2021 - We get a lot of questions from celiac community members wondering if certain brands and products are gluten-free. 
    One question we see a lot is about Absolute vodka. Specifically, is Absolut gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    According to the FDA, all distilled spirits, including vodka, are gluten-free, so that means Absolut and other major vodka, even those distilled from gluten containing grains, are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. 
    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and are naturally gluten-free.
    A glance at the Absolut website shows that the makers of Absolut "DO NOT use any flavors where ALLERGENS (e.g. wheat) are declared. Based on this supplier information, our VODKAS ARE ALLERGEN FREE."
    Absolut Vodka and the following Absolut Vodka products are considered gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease:
    Absolut Vodka Absolut Watermelon Absolut Grapefruit Absolut Lime Absolut Citron Absolut Mandrin Absolut Elyx Absolut Raspberri Absolut Vanilia Absolut Apeach Absolut Kurant Absolut Peppar Absolut Pears Absolut Mango Absolut Berri Acai Absolut Rainbow Absolut Juice Apple Absolut Juice Strawberry Absolut Juice Pear and Elderflower Absolut Mango Mule Absolut Grapefruit Paloma Absolut Berry Vodkarita Absolut Vodka Soda Lime & Cucumber Absolut Vodka Soda Raspberry & Lemongrass Absolut Vodka Soda Grapefruit & Rosemary Brands of Naturally Gluten-Free Vodka
    Broken Shed Vodka Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac Rice Vodka—Kissui Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Brands of Gluten-Free Vodka Distilled from Cereal Grains
    Barley Vodka—Finlandia Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,  Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka Rye Vodka—Belvedere, Biała Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 03/10/2021 - Even though the FDA recently confirmed that all distilled spirits, including rum, are gluten-free, we get a lot of questions from celiac community members wondering if certain brands and products are gluten-free. One question we see a lot is about Malibu Rum. Specifically, is Malibu Rum gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    This is logical as some ingredients added to flavor distilled alcohol can include gluten. Original Malibu Rum is just rum liqueur flavored with coconut. All distilled rum is gluten-free, unless gluten is added after distillation, which is very rare. According to the Malibu website, the company does "not add any known gluten ingredients in Malibu Original or in any of the Malibu Flavors.” The only allergen listed it coconut, which is a tree nut.
    The short answer is that Original Malibu Rum is considered gluten-free and safe for celiacs. The same is true for other Malibu Rum flavors, and associated Malibu Rum products, including Malibu Splash, Malibu Cans, Malibu Pouches. 
    Still, always be careful with any pre-made drink mixes that contain rum, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients. Read labels and choose carefully.
    Malibu Rum's Gluten-Free By Ingredient Products:
    Malibu Rum Malibu Original Malibu Watermelon Malibu Lime Malibu Strawberry Malibu Pineapple Malibu Mango Malibu Passion Fruit Malibu Tropical Banana Malibu Black Malibu Red Malibu Splash Strawberry Malibu Splash Lime Malibu Splash Passion Fruit Malibu Splash Pineapple Malibu Fizzy Pink Lemonade Malibu Strawberry Kiwi Malibu Fizzy Mango Malibu Pina Colada Malibu Pineapple Malibu Rum Punch Pouches Malibu Blue Hawaiian Pouches Lastly, Malibu makes a coconut-flavored beer that is NOT gluten-free, so be careful with that.
     


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...