Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

lpellegr

Reply From Whole Foods

Recommended Posts

A while back I avoided a problem by spotting a grain in my lentils from Whole Foods - their 365 brand. I e-mailed them about it, and here's the reply. Note that the bagged beans and rices are produced in a facility that also produces barley. I plan to avoid them but I will always be suspicious of every bagged product now.

Thank you for your comments regarding the 365 Organic Everyday Value Lentils. According to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 we clearly label if any of our products contain Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Fish, Shellfish, Soy or Wheat. In addition if the product does not contain the common allergen, but is produced in a facility where a product that does contain the allergen is also produced, we have added an extra statement informing that the allergen does share the same facility. We are still in the process of updating all of our products and any packaging printed after January 1, 2006 does have this labeling.

Unfortunately, gluten is not required to be stated on packaging according to FDA and USDA laws. So, raw ingredients such as rye, oat or barley do not have to be announced in the product or in the facility, except for in the ingredient statement if they are a main ingredient. The manufacturing facility of the 365 Organic Everyday Value Beans and Rices in the plastic bags, including the lentils, at this time are produced in a facility that also produces barley. I apologize for any inconvenience this has brought to you. If our products do not contain any gluten or are produced in a facility that is gluten-free, we will either clearly mark that on the packaging, or add the product to our special diet series shopping lists.

Whole Foods Market understands the inconveniences suffered by customers with food allergies and sensitivities. We try to make it as convenient as possible to make your shopping experience with us an enjoyable one. We have special shopping lists individualized to each specific store that clearly state what products are available to you that are gluten-free. Please visit our website at http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/specialdiets/index.html to find products in your store that are gluten-free. Also, please feel free to email either myself or our Private Label Customer Service at PrivateLabel.CustomerService@WholeFoods.com if you ever have any questions about gluten being in either a product or a facility for a food that you would like to enjoy but are not sure about.

Roberta Gentile | Customer Service and QA Liaison, Private Label

Whole Foods Market | 550 Bowie St | Austin TX 78703

512.542.0771 | (f) 512.482.7771


Lee

I never liked bread anyway.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):