Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ladybugpumpkin

The Old Spaghetti Factory Feedback

Recommended Posts

Here's what they had to say to me about their options for Gluten free food. I'm kinda confused about the last statement about the Tabasco Sauce. Does anyone know what this means?

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your email! Since our specialty is pasta and all of our regular pasta items have gluten in them, our Gluten-Free options are slightly limited. However, we are currently testing a Gluten Free Corn Rotelli in some of our units in (OR, WA and CA, except, Sacramento, Concord, Elk Grove, Roseville, Stockton and Rancho Cordova). We also have the following Gluten Free options available at all of our locations.

Main Courses:

* Baked Chicken. This is a chicken breast with the wing bone attached. It is marinated in oil and spices and baked in the oven. You can order this meal with the broccoli and or a side of Gluten Free pasta if it is available.

* Caesar Salad (with or without chicken) - ask for it without the croutons and without Caesar Dressing (substitute the Caesar Dressing for our Famous Creamy Pesto Dressing or our Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing)

Sauces:

* Tomato Sauce

* Mushroom Sauce

Side Dishes:

* Chicken strips. These are grilled chicken strips and have no breading. They are a great addition to the Caesar Salad or a pasta dish!

* Broccoli covered with Mizithra cheese, Brown butter and Olive oil.

Salad Dressings:

*Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing.

*Creamy Pesto Dressing

(Select test areas Only):

* Cobb Salad – no Blue cheese crumbles or dressing (sub. Pesto or Balsamic Dressing)

* Salmon Tuscany without the Orzo pilaf (sub. Broccoli or gluten-free pasta)

We also suggest that you make sure to alert your server to your food allergies so they can better help you with your special order. We hope this information helps and we look forward to serving you!

NOTE: Locations that have Gluten Free pasta – the pasta is cooked separately, stored separately and reheated separately.

Creamy Pesto Ingredients:

Mayonnaise, Salad Oil, Sweet Basil Leaves, Tabasco Sauce, Salt, Granulated Garlic, Grated Romano Cheese, Buttermilk, Half & Half. In an 8.5 gallon recipe there are 2 teaspoons of Tabasco Sauce. Tabasco has distilled vinegar in it, which can be unsafe to some Celiacs.

Sincerely,

The Old Spaghetti Factory


*AMB*

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Distilled vinegar is NOT a source of gluten, although it was once thought to be. A few people, including some celiacs, have a problem with vinegar (not gluten-caused), but for most of us it is not something to worry about.

Tabasco sauce is gluten-free. Enjoy!


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites