Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Snickers Popables


Recommended Posts

Hi, I just scared myself when I picked up a bag of "Snickers Popables" and noticed the ingredient: "modified wheat starch." Oh no, I thought, I've been eating Snicker bars, assuming that they were gluten-free! So I called the company, which is actually Master Foods, at 1-866-POPABLE, to inquire. This is what the Customer Service Rep told me. Please feel free to call the above number to confirm for your own peace of mind.

The rep said;

All M&M's are gluten-free, except for the "Crispy M&Ms"

Snicker bars are gluten-free

Snickers almond bars are gluten-free

Aqua drops (hard candy) are gluten-free

Skittles are gluten-free

Starburst is gluten-free

Dove candy bars are gluten-free

Three Musketeers Bars are gluten-free

THESE ARE THE PRODUCTS THE REP SAID ARE NOT gluten-free!

MILKY WAY BARS ARE NOT gluten-free

(except the midnight dark chocolate one)

All "POPABLES" ARE NOT gluten-free!!!!! (all flavors)

The "Popables" have modified wheat starch listed as an ingredient. The CSR checked with the Product Nutrition Rep who elaborated that the "Popables", (unlike the regular candy bars), are processed on the same lines as products with wheat, thus there is a chance of cross-contamination.

I asked the rep to forward my request to modify the "Popables" label to note: the warning of "This product may contain wheat." or "Processed on equipment that also processes wheat."

Read those labels carefully. I thought that the candy bars (like Snickers) and their Popables versions were the same. According to the company they aren't, due to the cross-contamination/equipment issue. So, no "Popables" for us!!

Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Those have contained wheat since they came out with them a couple of years ago. Never assume something is gluten free. When the candies change shapes, for example at holiday times, sometimes the formulation changes. Always read labels.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

Jessica

Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!

Kansas

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




×
×
  • Create New...