• Rice and soy beverages because their production process may utilize barley enzymes.
  • Bad advice from health food store employees (i.e., that spelt and/or kamut is/are safe for celiacs).
  • Cross-contamination between food store bins selling raw flours and grains (usually via the scoops).
  • Wheat-bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc.
  • Lotions, creams and cosmetics (primarily for those with dermatitis herpetaformis).
  • Stamps,
    envelopes or other gummed labels.
  • Toothpaste and mouthwash.
  • Medicines: many contain gluten.
  • Cereals: most contain malt flavoring, or some other non-GF ingredient.
  • Some brands of rice paper.
  • Sauce mixes and sauces (soy sauce, fish sauce, catsup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc.).
  • Ice cream.
  • Packet & canned soups.
  • Dried meals and gravy mixes.
  • Laxatives.
  • Grilled restaurant food - gluten contaminated grill.
  • Fried restaurant foods - gluten contaminated grease.
  • Ground spices - wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).