4 replies to this topic

#1 orphan annie

orphan annie

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 December 2004 - 05:45 PM

Hi, I'm very new to celiac disease (actually the testing is next week, but Dr. pretty sure) and wondering if anyone has gained weight prior to finding out--I've put on around 30 pounds but have all the other symptoms of celiac disease.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 celiac3270

celiac3270

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 26 December 2004 - 05:58 PM

That could be from stress...some people gain a lot of weight when they're stressed, as you might be before finding out if you have celiac.

#3 CindyK

CindyK

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 28 December 2004 - 11:39 AM

Hi! You may want to be sure you do not have hypothyroid. It is commonly associated with Celiac and can cause weight gain. I gained some weight prior to learning I have hypothyroid. Once diagnosed and regulated on Synthroid I had no trouble dropping the weight.

#4 darlindeb25

darlindeb25

Advanced Community Member

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,324 posts

Posted 29 December 2004 - 04:25 AM

;) sometimes we celiacs are different then others--i was heavy before going gluten-free--from what i understand--some of us react differently--when the gluten and our bodies are fighting each other, some of us dont lose weight--our bodies feed off of the fat we take in and we gain--i lost 60# once i found out i had to go gluten-free--my bf often asked me why i was overweight on what i ate and it baffled me too--i have never been a heavy eater--i guess it was just the way my body reacted--hope this is a little comfort to you--deb
Deb
Long Island, NY

Double DQ1, subtype 6