3 replies to this topic

#1 aroche84

aroche84

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 28 July 2011 - 07:37 PM

I am new to the Gluten Free world but my neighbor made this for me and it was sooooo good and I was instantly full!!!

Items needed:
1 head of cabbage
Butter
Olive Oil
Garlic
Chicken
Worcheshire (optional)

Take a head of cabbage and depending on how many people you are cooking for cut 1/4, 1/2, or the whole head into 1/4 inch thick strips and set aside.

Whether you choose to take the quick method and purchase a rotisseri chicken or if you want to cook your own chicken either way will work great. Shread the chicken and put aside in a bowl.

In a large saucepan put 2 pats of butter, a turn of the pan of evoo, and garlic (I usually put a tablespoon worth but depending on how much you like garlic you can play with this part)

Let the butter melt down and the garlic start to brown, then add the shredded cabbage make sure you turn it a few times to make sure it is coated with the oil/butter/garlic mixture. Salt and Pepper as you would like. I usually cook it on medium high and let it wilt down turning it every few minutes. When the cabbage has completely wilted down add the cooked chicken in and simmer for just a few more minutes.

*At this point you can add the worchesire if you want a little extra kick I usually add 1/4 tbsp per 1/4 head of cabbage!!!

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did, I serve it without anything else because it is so filling!!!!

~*Ashley*~

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 freeatlast

freeatlast

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts

Posted 29 July 2011 - 04:00 AM

Thanks, Ashley. This does look good. I have never thought about cooking cabbage that way. I may try it soon. Take care.
Proofreader, copy editor, herb gardener and an evolving gluten-free cook.