Get email alerts Get E-mail Alerts Sponsor: Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE email alerts

Food Colorings

3 posts in this topic

I'm working on Christmas cookies and am ready to frost them and realized I haven't researched food colorings very well yet. I have McCormick food coloring- just the regular package of red/blue/green/yellow drops to add to the frosting. I know their seasonings are good, so am I safe with the food coloring also? I also have a couple of colors of Wilton that's more of a gel. The label on the gel food coloring says it's processed in a facility that also produces wheat products :( I was hoping to use the gel but I probably shouldn't.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ads by Google:

There is a discussion of food colorings on gluten free faces (I tried to link it but it would not work.)

Looks like The McCormick ones are safe.

McCormick Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We appreciate your interest

in our Assorted Food Color (Four Pack) and welcome the opportunity to be of

assistance to you.

McCormick Food Colors are gluten free.

We are aware of special allergies and intolerances to certain ingredients

such as the following:

Peanuts Fish Soy proteins Sulfites

Tree nuts Eggs Wheat proteins Yellow No. 5 & 6

Shellfish Milk Red Pepper

As a responsible food company, McCormick follows the U.S. Food Drug &

Cosmetic Act regulations to ensure consumer safety concerning food

allergens. We declare these ingredients on our label in the ingredient

statement. Federal regulations require us to list sulfites if they are

over 10 parts per million, so we use that as our label declaration limit.

If a product does not have an ingredient statement, it is a pure spice or

herb with nothing added and is gluten free. In addition, the alcohol in

all of our extracts does not come from grain and is gluten free.

Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of

our products that do not currently contain glutens. We encourage you to

read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to

ensure accurate, up to date information.

In addition, we follow good manufacturing practices at our plants. Our

employees are trained in the importance of correct labeling and the

necessity of performing thorough equipment wash-downs to eliminate

cross-contact of ingredients.

Although we cannot guarantee our products to be 100% free of allergens not

listed on the label, we want you to know that we take this situation

seriously and have taken extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of

mislabeling or cross-contact.

We invite you to sign up from our website to be a regular "My McCormick"

user and receive our online newsletter with recipes and cooking tips.

If we can be of further assistance, please call us at 1-800-632-5847,

Monday through Friday, 9:30AM to 5PM Eastern Time. If you wish to respond

to this note by e-mail, please include your name and e-mail address.

We hope to have the continued pleasure of serving you.


Carolyn Stone

Consumer Affairs Specialist

Ref # 618614


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know of any food colors anywhere that have gluten.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
    • Total Posts
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Why would your PCP go against the advice of leading celiac researchers and the American and British GI Associations?  The endoscopy/biopsy is still the gold standard for diagnosing celiac disease.     I understand your daughter's  situation, but I would get a second opinion from a GI before going gluten free.  
    • It might not be Celiac, if your tests are negative.  Have you been to a doctor and been tested for diabetes or thyroid issues lately?  What are your parents doing about your issues?  Some things like acne and shin splints might be explained by age or activity, but passing out and depression need to be addressed.
    • I will visit  Johannesburg  international airport, is there any gluten free food available? The so called customer service office did not answer my question! So I am taking it to the forum. If you know of any restaurants inside the airport please let me know.  
    • I will visit Beijing international airport, is there any gluten free food available? The so called customer service office did not answer my question! So I am taking it to the forum. If you know of any restaurants inside the airport please let me know.  
    • Instead of going to my doctor I went to theranos to get a celiac blood test done. Doctors never seem to want to hear about you diagnosing yourself so I decided against going to the doctor . So my symptoms are/were being bloated after eating, stomach pain, constipation, also diahrea (my poop is always green ik tmi), bad anxiety, depression, irritability, insomnia and anger after consuming a big meal of gluten, I also have a rash on my right leg below my butt I don't think it's dh tho, I'm always thirsty (like I can't get enough water), dizzy spells (fainting and blacking out), my left side of my face tingles (could do with anxiety), my face also feels hot after consuming gluten, I have acne, hip pain and shin inflammation, back pain, and dandruff. My theranos results came back negative with everything ranging from 0-3 so it was super low. I had the celiac panal done. Well anyways I thought maybe it's wrong and went off gluten anyways. This is my 6 day gluten free and my symptoms haven't resolved at all really. My bloating has lessened a tiny bit but I still get bloated after every meal. And im constipated all the time. My poop stopped being green though. I'm not eating dairy right now either. I'm also having worse anxiety and am still depressed. If Im gluten sensitive shouldn't I be feeling better by now? I also live in a house with gluten eating people sense im only 15 but I try hard not to cross contaminate. I eat lots of veggies  (Kale and salads) and lots of nuts and beans and indulge salmon and tuna a few times a week and eat quinoa every morning for breakfast. I'm scared I'm not gluten sensitive and I don't know what to do. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
    • Most Online

    Newest Member