Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    Are Mono- and Diglycerides Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Yes, mono- or diglycerides are gluten free and safe for people with celiac disease.


    Image: CC BY 2.0--UC Davis College of Engineering
    Caption: Image: CC BY 2.0--UC Davis College of Engineering

    Celiac.com 08/14/2020 - Monoglycerides and diglycerides do not contain wheat, rye, barley. They are gluten free and safe for people with celiac disease. Monglycerides and diglycerides appear on a number of gluten-free lists, including Celiac.com's Safe Gluten-Free Foods List.

    Some mono- and diglycerides are made with wheat. FDA labeling laws require any mono- or diglycerides made with wheat to disclose that fact on the label, so check the allergen listings, to be sure.

    Foods Containing Mono- and Diglycerides



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Mono- and diglycerides are processed fats that help improve the consistency and quality of processed and packaged foods.  Mono and Diglycerides are often used as emulsifiers in baked goods, soft drinks, candy, gum, whipped cream, ice cream, margarine and shortening. 

    Mono and Diglycerides May Contain Trans Fats

    Some mono- and diglycerides are made in labs, while others come from animal or vegetable sources. All are exposed to heat for processing into packaged and prepared foods. Because of this, and because they are made from partly fatty acids, mono- and diglycerides may contain trans fats, which have been linked to an increased risk of numerous diseases, including heart disease, stroke and diabetes.

     

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com's safe food and ingredient list has been compiled and maintained for nearly 25 years. We keep the list updated with any additions or changes. Feel free to comment below if you believe something should be added to it.
    A
    Acacia Gum
    Acesulfame K
    Acesulfame Potassium
    Acetanisole
    Acetophenone
    Acorn Quercus
    Adipic Acid
    Adzuki Bean
    Acacia Gum
    Agar
    Agave
    Ajinomoto (msg)
    Albumen
    Alcohol (Distilled Spirits)
    Alfalfa
    Algae
    Algin
    Alginic Acid
    Alginate
    Alkalized Cocoa
    Allicin
    Almond Nut
    Alpha-amylase
    Alpha-lactalbumin
    Aluminum...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 07/24/2020 - In the U.S., hydrolyzed plant protein is gluten-free, safe for people with celiac disease, and appears on Celiac.com's list of Safe Gluten-Free Ingredients. All hydrolyzed plant protein is gluten-free, including soy protein isolate, soy protein concentrate, autolyzed plant protein, hydrolyzed oat flour and textured protein. 
    Hydrolyzed Protein is Gluten-Free. Other names and abbreviations for hydrolyzed vegetable protein include:
    HPP  HVP  Hydrolyzed Plant Protein  Hydrolyzed Protein  Hydrolyzed Soy Protein Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein Hydrolyzed Protein is MSG
    ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 07/31/2020 - In the U.S., nearly all modified food starch is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Modified food starch (except for that labeled as made with wheat) is on Celiac.com's list of Safe Gluten-Free Ingredients. Modified food starch is made by treating starch with enzymes, chemicals, or processing techniques to change the structure, and make it useful as an emulsifier, thickener, or an anti-caking agent in food manufacturing.
    Modified Food Starch can go by many names, including:
    Modified Food Starch Modified Starch Food Starch Food Starch Modified Starch In the U.S...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/07/2020 - Everyone knows that some people react to the food ingredient monosodium glutamate (MSG). Did you know that the name of monosodium glutamate (MSG), is a trade name for sodium hydrogen glutamate? Did you know that MSG has dozens of names, and can sneak into processed food in myriad ways? 
    MSG is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. MSG is included on Celiac.com's list of Safe Gluten-Free Ingredients, and plenty of people have no problems when eating MSG. However, MSG can cause adverse reactions in some people. Symptoms of adverse MSG reaction can include numbness or pressure in the face, rapid heartbeat, chest p...