Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Are Swedish Fish Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      If you're wondering if Swedish Fish gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease, here's your answer.


    Image: CC BY-ND 2.0--cathyse97
    Caption: Image: CC BY-ND 2.0--cathyse97

    Celiac.com 12/22/2020 - We get countless questions about celiac disease and candy. Believe it or not, one question we get a lot is about Swedish Fish. Specifically, are Swedish Fish gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? 

    Swedish Fish is a popular brand of gummy candy. A number of major gummy candy brands contain wheat starch, including some Warheads, Haribo and SweeTARTS, so what's the deal? Are Swedish Fish gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    When most people think of Swedish Fish, they think of the pale red, orange, yellow or green colors of gummy candy. While not labeled as gluten-free, Swedish Fish contain no gluten ingredients, and they are regarded by many as naturally gluten-free, and specifically the versions made by Cadbury Adams, now owned by Mondelez. If you only eat items that are clearly labelled "gluten-free" on their packaging, you may want to avoid Swedish Fish.

    Swedish Fish Varieties:

    • Swedish Fish Assorted Candy
    • Swedish Fish Assorted Soft & Chewy Candy
    • Swedish Fish Bags Original Soft & Chewy Assorted Candy
    • Swedish Fish Black Licorice flavor (by Malaco)
    • Swedish Fish Brand Soft & Chewy Candy Christmas Colors
    • Swedish Fish Candy
    • Swedish Fish Candy Go-Paks!
    • Swedish Fish Eggs Assorted Soft & Chewy Candy
    • Swedish Fish Hearts BG
    • Swedish Fish Original Soft & Chewy Candy
    • Swedish Fish Soft & Chewy Candy
    • Swedish Fish Soft Candy Berry Fat-Free
    • Swedish Fish Treatsize Packages

    According to Mondelēz, the company “takes great pride that their products are safe and properly labeled." Mondelēz clearly labels its products for all seven of the major allergens, including wheat, milk, peanuts, eggs, fish, crustacean, shellfish, soy, and tree nuts. 

    In addition, Mondelēz tracks other allergens including sesame seeds, mollusks, celery, mustard, poppy seeds, and sunflower seeds. All products are tested to ensure less than 10 ppm of any allergen.

    The original maker of Swedish Fish, Malaco, still sells wine gum Swedish Fish in Sweden, where the candies are called “pastellfiskar” (pale-colored fish), and are also available in a black licorice flavor. Both the black and assorted colors of Swedish can be purchased on Amazon, among other places.

    Black Swedish Fish contain: Sugar, glucose syrup, corn starch, ammonium chloride (liquorice), licorice extract, stabilizer (Mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids), vegetable oils (coconut, palm ), aroma, color (Carbon ), glazing agent (beeswax).

    All other colors of Swedish Fish contain: SUGAR, INVERT SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, CITRIC ACID, WHITE MINERAL OIL, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, RED 40, CARNAUBA WAX.

    All varieties of Swedish Fish appear on Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list.

    None of the Swedish Fish labels we reviewed contain any gluten ingredients. However, ingredients and labels can change, so stay vigilant. 
     

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/26/2020 - How do you figure out which Halloween candy is gluten-free and safe for you and your loved ones? You check out the Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, of course!
    Here's our best, most comprehensive, most up-to-date list of safe, gluten-free Halloween candy, along with a list of unsafe candy that contains gluten and should be avoided.
    This year, we’ve added candies to both the SAFE Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, and to our UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list. We’ve also added more manufacturer contact information for easier answers to gluten-free questions.
    Celiac.com strives to mak...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 04/08/2020 - Because so many candy companies make special products for Easter, here is Celiac.com's list of Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy for Easter and kosher gluten-free candies for Passover.  Below the list of SAFE candy, you will find a list of UNSAFE, NON–gluten–free candies, along with a partial list of major candy makers with links to their company websites. Please keep in mind that while we strive to be as comprehensive as possible, the list is not intended to be authoritative, or definitive, and should only be used as a guideline. 
    Before eating any candy on the list, be sure to read labels, check manufacturer’s information, and ga...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 04/21/2020 - We've had more than a few requests for a handy list of top candy bars that are gluten-free. If you're candy bar lover looking for a reliable source of gluten-free candy bars, then look no further. These major brands of candy bars are widely available, reliably gluten-free, and deliver good bang for the buck. 
    Major Brands of Gluten-Free Candy Bars
    Snickers Candy Bar  3 Musketeers Candy Bar  Baby Ruth Candy Bar  Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar Payday Almond Joy Butterfinger Candy Bar Reese's Peanut Butter Cups Oh Henry Candy Bars  Bit O Honey Candy Bar ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/27/2020 - We get a lot of questions about candy and chocolate, and one of the most common questions we get this time of year is: What Halloween candy is gluten-free?
    The good news is that there are hundreds of gluten-free candies and chocolates for Halloween and beyond. The bad news used to be that, even with all the great information these days, it can be hard to find good information, and comprehensive lists of gluten-free Halloween candy and chocolate. 
    The extra good news is that Celiac.com has made it easy with this master list of gluten-free candy and chocolate for Halloween, and all occasions.
    Celiac.com also ha...