Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I called Tylenol/Johnson & Johnson today (1/23/17).

Customer Service told me that only Tylenol 8 hr Arthritis is gluten-free. She also told me that they are launching a new product that is also gluten free: Tylenol Extra Strength Rapid Release Liquid Gel Caps. She said the new gel caps aren't available in all areas yet, but will be available nationwide soon.

She said that the other Tylenol products can't be guaranteed as gluten-free concerning the pregelatinized starch, sodium starch glycolate, or ingredient & manufacturing cross-contamination.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

You know, I just bought some Tylenol tablets for my kid.  I avoid taking anything because I seem to react (allergy/anaphylactic) to many medications (OTC: aspirin and ibuprofen) and it is NOT celiac related.   But, I like to keep gluten-free meds on hand for my kid and my hubby (he must avoid gluten too).  I asked my pharmacist to check the gluten free drug list and the tablets were on the list.  Glutenfreedrugs.com is maintained by a pharmacist who is dedicated to gluten free drugs.  His list is pretty current.  

So, bottle in hand, I called J & J just now.  They told me that the ingredients are free from gluten, they use best manufacturing procceses, but do not test the end product.  This means they can not claim the product is gluten free.  

It makes me mad that the FDA excluded drugs from the gluten free ruling.  It is safer or easier  to eat a Kraft food product than take a medication.  That said, the odds of getting glutened are slim based on this:


Maybe, we need to this petition/bill passed in Congress:





Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

@cyclinglady - Thanks for the information. I'll have to check out the links. Different answers for the same questions make being gluten-free so challenging.

I cannot take ibuprofen or aspirin due to a sensitive stomach. Tylenol isn't the best pain reliever, especially when I'm experiencing inflammation pain, but it's the best I can do.

My pre-diagnosis bottle of Tylenol includes a starch product, which is why I called Tylenol. The customer service woman told me she couldn't guarantee the source of the starch wasn't wheat, rye, or barley, but told me about the other gluten-free products.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...