Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ruthla

Gluten Free Oat Flour

Recommended Posts

I'm well aware of the controversies regarding oats, and that many people can't tolerate them. But I'm not going to know if I personally can tolerate it or not until I try it. I do know that having oat challahs in the house will eliminate the need for wheat challahs on my Shabbos table so I want to get gluten-free oat flour ASAP.

I've been to two different health food stores in the past week, and neither had oat flour that said "gluten free" on the label. I'm scared to buy just any old brand of oat flour, especially when the same company makes wheat, barley, spelt, and/or rye flour. If I can't get gluten-free oat flour, I'll buy regular gluten-free oats and make them into flour in my food processor.

So which brands are safe? Which ones should be avoided?


Ruth, single mom to DD1, 14, DD2, 113, and DS, 7

Kosher, low carb (since 6/3/07), gluten free (since 11/15/07), dairy free, mostly legume (incl. soy) free since 2/7/08. Now on the Blood Type Diet (type O) which includes cutting out corn as well. I have fibromyalgia and this diet is helping me feel better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I replied to your other post on this subject, but you might not have seen it. I will repost what I said there over here. :)

Here are all the manufactureres of gluten-free oats:

Only Oats

Bob's Red Mill

Glutenfreeoats.com

Gifts Of Nature

Creamhill Estates

The only one that offers oat flour is Only Oats. You will probably have to mail order them - I don't know if they have wide distribution in stores. You can make your own oat flour in a blender, coffee grinder or food processor. Just put the oats in and process until finely ground.

Hope this helps.


-Colleen

Dx 8/05 via bloodwork and biopsy (total villous atrophy)

13-year old son Dx 11/05 via bloodwork and biopsy

Daughters (16 and 5) have tested negative via bloodwork

A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water. - Eleanor Roosevelt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

If you can get ahold of some gluten-free rolled oats (oatmeal), you can throw it into a blender or food processor to make flour. I used to make oat flour that way to use in cookies all the time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I'm well aware of the controversies regarding oats, and that many people can't tolerate them. But I'm not going to know if I personally can tolerate it or not until I try it. I do know that having oat challahs in the house will eliminate the need for wheat challahs on my Shabbos table so I want to get gluten-free oat flour ASAP.

I've been to two different health food stores in the past week, and neither had oat flour that said "gluten free" on the label. I'm scared to buy just any old brand of oat flour, especially when the same company makes wheat, barley, spelt, and/or rye flour. If I can't get gluten-free oat flour, I'll buy regular gluten-free oats and make them into flour in my food processor.

So which brands are safe? Which ones should be avoided?

Ruth,

I also have the same problem. I recently found out that I have celiacs and I have the problem of trying an oat flour for challah. Also I don't know what receipe I would use. When we can order the oat matzos from London, I am going to order and at that time I will also buy extra oat matza meal from the same source.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Only Oats is a Saskatchewan product (YAY!! :D ), so I can find many variations of everything. In fact right now I'm eating muffins I made with their muffin mix.

As far as I know you can order off their website to either Canada or US.

Lots of people are scared of eating gluten-free oats, but I only tried it because someone else on this forum is just as sensitive as me started buying them without ever getting sick.

I am so sensitive that it takes consuming one crumb or breathing in the grains in the air (during harvest/seeding, that is) or acccidently using a utensil that is then used in gluten-free food. I have never gotten sick from Only Oats, and trust me if I get glutened, I REALLY feel the effects, even if its just the tiniest amount of glutening!!

So I say try get the Only Oats if I can!!

~ Lisa ~


...Flames vs. Panthers, and Lifehouse, were best experiences OF MY LIFE!!...

...26 years old...

...Look in my forum profile for ways to read my public sports articles...

R.I.P. Uncle Gus (Sept. 21, 1971 - Oct. 2, 2004) ... R.I.P. Baba (Oct. 12, 1911 - Feb. 28, 2006) ... R.I.P. Uncle Lawrence (Aug. 7, 1943 - Jan. 4, 2009)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I replied to your other post on this subject, but you might not have seen it. I will repost what I said there over here. :)

Here are all the manufactureres of gluten-free oats:

Only Oats

Bob's Red Mill

Glutenfreeoats.com

Gifts Of Nature

Creamhill Estates

The only one that offers oat flour is Only Oats. You will probably have to mail order them - I don't know if they have wide distribution in stores. You can make your own oat flour in a blender, coffee grinder or food processor. Just put the oats in and process until finely ground.

Hope this helps.

None of these seem to be available in any stores near me (I'm near Fairway and Dr. B. Well Naturally and not too far from Wild By Nature).

Are the Irish steel-cut oats gluten-free? I know I can get those locally.


Ruth, single mom to DD1, 14, DD2, 113, and DS, 7

Kosher, low carb (since 6/3/07), gluten free (since 11/15/07), dairy free, mostly legume (incl. soy) free since 2/7/08. Now on the Blood Type Diet (type O) which includes cutting out corn as well. I have fibromyalgia and this diet is helping me feel better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

None of these seem to be available in any stores near me (I'm near Fairway and Dr. B. Well Naturally and not too far from Wild By Nature).

Are the Irish steel-cut oats gluten-free? I know I can get those locally.

Urgh. I stupidly ate some baked ziti the other night (made with rice pasta, but I shouldn't have had the dairy) and now I feel like crap. I can't test any new foods until I get all this dairy out of my system, which might take a few weeks.

And with only 6 weeks until Passover, there really isn't time to recover from the dairy, test oats and then recover from a bad reaction in time to figure out alternatives for the seders. And in any case, I need to get into "use up what's in the pantry" mode, not stock up on various new i tems that I may or may not use up before then.

At this point, I think I'll just go ahead and order the oat matzas and test oats at Passover time. Then, if I tolerate them, I'll seek out some gluten-free oat flour afterwards.

Just to clarify something here: Quaker oats are contaminated, right? So having had a bad reaction to Quaker oats (several months ago) doesn't automatically mean that I don't tolerate oats, right? Otherwise this whole discussion is kind of moot!


Ruth, single mom to DD1, 14, DD2, 113, and DS, 7

Kosher, low carb (since 6/3/07), gluten free (since 11/15/07), dairy free, mostly legume (incl. soy) free since 2/7/08. Now on the Blood Type Diet (type O) which includes cutting out corn as well. I have fibromyalgia and this diet is helping me feel better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Urgh. I stupidly ate some baked ziti the other night (made with rice pasta, but I shouldn't have had the dairy) and now I feel like crap. I can't test any new foods until I get all this dairy out of my system, which might take a few weeks.

And with only 6 weeks until Passover, there really isn't time to recover from the dairy, test oats and then recover from a bad reaction in time to figure out alternatives for the seders. And in any case, I need to get into "use up what's in the pantry" mode, not stock up on various new i tems that I may or may not use up before then.

At this point, I think I'll just go ahead and order the oat matzas and test oats at Passover time. Then, if I tolerate them, I'll seek out some gluten-free oat flour afterwards.

Just to clarify something here: Quaker oats are contaminated, right? So having had a bad reaction to Quaker oats (several months ago) doesn't automatically mean that I don't tolerate oats, right? Otherwise this whole discussion is kind of moot!

So sorry you are not feeling well.

This is from the Quaker Oats website

Do oats contain gluten?

Because oats are grown, stored, transported in bulk, they may contain trace amounts of wheat, rye and barley. USDA grain standards allow a certain percentage of other grains to be present in the oats. Therefore, gluten may be found in oats, even if very small amounts of these other grains are present.

The only oats that are certain to be free of contamination from gluten grains are grown in dedicated fields. Here is a study that demonstrates the trouble with mainstream oats, IMO. One never knows how much gluten contamination there will be. It could be a little, or it could be quite a lot.

To summarize the study

-Colleen

Dx 8/05 via bloodwork and biopsy (total villous atrophy)

13-year old son Dx 11/05 via bloodwork and biopsy

Daughters (16 and 5) have tested negative via bloodwork

A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water. - Eleanor Roosevelt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter