Get email alerts Get E-mail Alerts Sponsor: Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE email alerts

Hot Fudge Sauce For Ice Cream?

5 posts in this topic

Can I eat hot fudge sauce on ice cream? (Not the regular chocolate syrup) One of my friends was convinced it had some kind of flour as a thickener. I could see it having malt flavoring or something like that, but flour? That seemed weird.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ads by Google:

You would have to check the brand that you were planning to eat--there's no way to say if all of a certain type of prepared food is gluten-free. That would be too easy :D


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I've used the Smucker's hot fudge sauce with no problem. I had verified at one point that it was gluten-free, but you may want to double check with them just to be sure.

I do know that the hot fudge at McDonald's is gluten-free! I get the hot fudge sundae off the dollar menu and yummmmmmm

however, Dairy Queen says that their hot fudge sauce IS NOT gluten-free. Always check with the company, never assume just because one brand is ok that all are.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

DQ® Gluten-Free Products

Dec. 2005.

For our customers with gluten intolerance, the following Dairy Queen® treats are gluten-free containing no wheat, barley, oats or rye.

Vanilla and Chocolate Soft Serve

Arctic Rush™ slush - all flavors

MooLatté® (without whipped topping)

(Please note: This does NOT include Hazelnut Flavored drinks.)

Additionally the following toppings are gluten-free:


Hot Fudge





Our supplier of manufactured novelties informs us that the following items are also gluten-free:

DQ® Fudge Bar

DQ® Vanilla Orange Bar

Dilly® Bar (look for this in a sealed plastic wrap)

If you would like to try one of our famous Blizzard® treats, the following is a list of gluten-free Blizzard® treats.

Reese’s® Peanut Butter Cup Blizzard®

Butterfinger® Blizzard®

Snickers® Blizzard®

Heath® Blizzard®

M&M® Blizzard®

Banana Split Blizzard®

Hawaiian Blizzard®

Tropical Blizzard®

Strawberry Blizzard®

Mint M&M® Blizzard®

Please know, many of our Blizzard® candies and toppings contain wheat, rye, oats, and/or barley and would not be safe for a customer with gluten intolerance. As the Blizzard® machine is used for all flavors, cross-contamination may occur on any flavor Blizzard®. So for your safety, we recommend notifying the Dairy Queen® staff of your allergy or intolerance and requesting they thoroughly clean the Blizzard® machine before blending your Blizzard® to reduce the risk of cross-contamination.

When in doubt whether a product may contain a particular allergen, we recommend you purchase a pre-packaged manufactured novelty treat, which contains an ingredient listing and nutrition facts panel on the package.

Dairy Queen® restaurants are very busy and cross contamination may occur between ingredients. Thus a 100% confidence level cannot be guaranteed. It is important that you ask your local Dairy Queen® restaurant for an ingredient listing of the specific item in question and let them know of your special needs.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, Dairy Queen seems unusually on top o f the gluten thing!

For the best and cheapest fudge sauce, make your own. It takes like a minute longer than opening and heating Smuckers.

Melt a cup of dark chocolate chips in the microwave with a tablespoon or two of butter, stirring every 30 seconds. Stir in 1/4-1/2 cup of half-and-half, light cream, or whipping cream, and heat for 30 more seconds. You can add vanilla or any kind of gluten-free liqueur that you like . I used to like Grand Marnier, Kahlua (sp? that doesn't look quite right), or Frangelico--I have no idea if any of those are gluten-free, though.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
    • Total Posts
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Did Jennifer Esposito Leave Town Amid $43 Million Gluten-Free Bakery Lawsuit?
      Wasn't this some gossip rag nonsense from a few weeks back?  I think it's been proven false.  But, even so, why is celebrity gossip from unreliable sources here?  And I can't leave a comment on the actual article, because he approves and often edits the comment.
    • Recovery?
      Hi PLB, If he hasn't been gluten-free very long, he might still be able to get blood testing done for the gliaden (gluten) antibodies.  More than a couple weeks may be too long tho. As far as recovery, it varies from person to person.  The condition associated with celiac that you are thinking of is probably gluten ataxia.  Gluten ataxia is an antibody attack on the brain cells that can cause problems walking and controlling muscles.  Generally it seems people consider nervous system healing / recovery to be a fairly slow process.  Although it sounds like your husband is experiencing some recovery already, which is great! I've read about coconut having benefits for people with alzhiemers disease, but don't know if it would help him.  I doubt it would hurt though.  The B-vitamins including B-12 are supposed to be very important for nervous system health.  Vitamin d is also important but make sure you take a supplement that is tested and reliable.  Check out  for their review/test results.  Dr. Hadjivassiliou has done some research on gluten ataxia and you might find reading his information helpful. Nuerological symptoms without gastro symptoms Dietary treatment of gluten ataxia Ubo's, Epilepsy And Celiac Testing for celiac disease usually starts with a blood antibody test and then a endoscopy to check for gut damage.  If a person has been off gluten for a while though, the tests are not much use.  The antibodies in the bloodstream start to drop off and may not be detectable anymore.  They usually say to eat gluten for around 12 weeks in that case before trying testing again.  I can understand why he wouldn't want to do that though considering his symptoms.  I am not sure it would be a good idea. Welcome to the forum and congrats on finding  away to improve his condition! If you turn on the notify me of replies slide button near the bottom left of the reply screen you can get an email when you receive responses to your thread. There is some helpful info in this thread about celiac disease.             
    • Genetic Results
      I have been looking for an explanation to what exactly I have, as my doctor just said that I have the genes that cause Celiac. They never went any further than that.... The wikipedia link makes some sense, but at the same time it does not. It almost seems like I have 1 full DQ2, and half of a DQ2?   Test: DQ Alpha 1 - 02:01,03 Test : DQ Beta 1 - 02:02,03:02 DQ Serologic Equivalent: 2,8 Method: Molecular typing of HLA antigens performed using reverse SSOP and/or SSP methods, reported as serological equivalents and low to medium resolution molecular values
    • Looking For A Family In The Houston Metro Area
      Maybe check if they have any local gluten free/ Celiac Facebook groups?  Someone just posted on ours for this same thing and got some responses.
    • Quinoa Well Tolerated In Patients With Celiac Disease - Science Daily (Press Release)
      Maybe not true for you....but that doesn't mean all Celiacs can't eat it.  Does it? 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      Kind Regards,
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it. Thank You,
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
    • Most Online

    Newest Member