Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

What Are The Hidden Words On Labels For Dairy?


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 janelyb

 
janelyb

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 256 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2007 - 01:19 PM

so total newbie here to dairy free so what all do I need to watch out for on ingredients list? I know casein,whey and milk are dairy but what other words?
  • 0
Janel (me): gluten-free since 4/10/07; casien free 5/1/07;soy light 10/07
**LOST 35 lbs since April 2007(much needed weight loss)**

ds(6 yrs)- gluten-free since 3/19/07; casein free 5/2/07;soy free 10/07
HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 7,7)
new dx= Hirschsprungs Disease w/cecostomy


the non believers, only allergen free eatting at home because they have to be:
Hubby: refuses to eat Gluten-free Casein-free except for dinner
dd(14 yrs)- refuses to go along with any special dietary retrictions *I suspect dairy/wheat intollerant*

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 CarlaB

 
CarlaB

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,049 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2007 - 01:31 PM

The easiest way is to look at the allergen statement, it will list dairy.
  • 0
gluten-free 12/05

diagnosed with Lyme Disease 12/06

#3 happygirl

 
happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2007 - 04:11 PM

not all products have a line that says "Contains: Allergen, Allergen, Allergen".

However, any milk products won't be hidden.

if its labeled parve (or P), its non-dairy.

anything with casein/caseinate, any milk, any listing of dairy, whey/whey protein, lactose, butter, cream...

by the way-some margarines are casein free.
  • 0

#4 Mango04

 
Mango04

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,618 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2007 - 05:13 PM

Here's the list from godairyfree.com

DEFINITELY DAIRY INGREDIENTS

* Acidophilus milk
* Ammonium Caseinate
* Artificial butter flavor
* Butter
* Butter Fat
* Butter Oil
* Butter Solids Buttermilk
* Calcium caseinate
* Casein
* Caseinate
* Cheese (All)
* Condensed Milk
* Cottage Cheese
* Cream
* Curds
* Custard
* Delactosed
* Whey Demineralized Whey
* Dry milk powder



* Dry milk solids
* Evaporated milk
* Goat's milk
* Half-and-half
* Hydrolysates
* Hydrolyzed Casein
* Hydrolyzed Milk Protein
* Iron Caseinate
* Lactalbumin
* Lactalbumin Phosphate
* Lactate
* Lactoferrin
* Lactoglobulin
* Lactose
* Lactulose
* Magnesium Caseinate
* Malted Milk
* Milk (whole, lowfat, and skim)
* Milk Derivative
* Milk Fat



* Milk Powder
* Milk Protein
* Milk Solids
* Nougat
* Potassium Caseinate
* Pudding
* Recaldent
* Ready Sponge
* Rennet Casein
* Sodium Caseinate
* Sodium Lactylate
* Sour Cream
* Sour Milk Solids
* Sweetened Condensed Milk
* Whey
* Whey Powder
* Whey Protein Concentrate
* Whey Protein Hydrolysate
* Yogurt
* Zinc Caseinate

POTENTIALLY DAIRY INGREDIENTS

* Artificial Flavors / Flavoring- Vague ingredient, it may be derived from a dairy product
* Brown sugar flavoring- Depends upon the manufacturing process
* Caramel Color- Depends upon the manufacturing process
* Caramel Flavoring- Depends upon the manufacturing process
* Coconut Cream Flavoring- Depends upon the manufacturing process
* Galactose- Lactose by product, digestible for most, but some may have an intolerance to it
* Ghee- Supposedly pure butter fat, no protein or sugars, but it may contain traces
* High Protein Flour- Vague ingredient, it may be derived from a dairy product
* Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein- The processing phase may use casein, only a concern for highly sensitive allergies
* Lactic Acid Starter Culture- Different from Lactic Acid, may contain milk
* Margarine - Milk proteins are commonly found in most brands
* Natural Egg Flavor - Depends upon the manufacturing process
* Natural Flavors / Flavoring - Vague ingredient, it may be derived from a dairy product
* Protein - The added protein in foods, particularly "high energy" foods, is often milk protein
* Fat Replacers - Brands such as Dairy-LoŽ and SimplesseŽ are made with milk protein
* Soy Cheese - Typically lactose free, but often contains milk protein
* Non-Dairy - This does not mean milk-free, it indicates 1/2% or less milk by weight

SURPRISINGLY DAIRY FREE INGREDIENTS

* Calcium Lactate
* Calcium Propionate
* Calcium Stearoyl
* Lactylate
* Cocoa Butter
* Cocoa Powder
* Cream of Tartar
* Lactic Acid
* Lecithin Oleoresin
* Sodium Lactate
* Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate


  • 0
"Let food be thy medicine, and let thy medicine be food." - Hippocrates

#5 janelyb

 
janelyb

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 256 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2007 - 08:38 PM

thank you so much that list is exactally what I was wanting and more.
  • 0
Janel (me): gluten-free since 4/10/07; casien free 5/1/07;soy light 10/07
**LOST 35 lbs since April 2007(much needed weight loss)**

ds(6 yrs)- gluten-free since 3/19/07; casein free 5/2/07;soy free 10/07
HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 7,7)
new dx= Hirschsprungs Disease w/cecostomy


the non believers, only allergen free eatting at home because they have to be:
Hubby: refuses to eat Gluten-free Casein-free except for dinner
dd(14 yrs)- refuses to go along with any special dietary retrictions *I suspect dairy/wheat intollerant*




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: