Celiac.com Sponsors:

Celiac.com Sponsor:
No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsors:
 
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:


Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts
SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Are Cadbury Creme Eggs Gluten-free?

Celiac.com 03/25/2016 - There seems to be some confusion about the gluten-free status of Cadbury Creme Eggs. Are Cadbury Creme Eggs gluten-free? The short answer is "not officially," but the full answer is more detailed.

In the U.S., Cadbury, and Cadbury Easter products are made by Hershey, which does not consider them to be gluten-free. However, Cadbury Creme Eggs contain no gluten ingredients, and their label states that they are manufactured in a plant that also processes tree nuts and peanuts, but not wheat.

Any Cadbury product processed in a plant that processes wheat products will be clearly labeled. So, this is a case of read the label, and make your own judgement based on your own experience or sensitivity levels.

The same is true in the UK, where possible allergens are all clearly listed. For example, the UK, the ingredient label for CADBURY DAIRY MILK HOLLOW BUNNY lists an allergen warning that the product MAY CONTAIN NUTS, WHEAT, as do other Cadbury UK products.

We feel that products containing no wheat or gluten ingredients, and made in a plant that does not process wheat, are likely safe for people on a gluten-free diet.

At the end of the day, both for Easter candy and for every day candy, it is important to read labels, check manufacturers websites, check ingredients and allergen lists, and to make judgements based on your own judgement about your sensitivity and comfort levels. 

Ads by Google:

Accordingly, we have added the following Cadbury products to the SAFE section of our Gluten-free Easter Candy List for 2016. These Cadbury products contain no gluten ingredients, and their allergen label does not list wheat:

CADBURY USA

  • Cadbury Caramel Eggs
  • Cadbury Creme Eggs
  • Cadbury Easter Egg Trail Pack
  • Cadbury Egg Heads
  • Cadbury Orange Creme Eggs

CADBURY UK

  • Cadbury Caramel Eggs
  • Cadbury Creme Filled Eggs
  • Cadbury Creme Mini Filled Eggs
  • Cadbury Dairy Milk Buttons Chick
  • Cadbury Dairy Milk Mini Filled Eggs
  • Cadbury Dairy Milk Daim Mini Filled Eggs
  • Cadbury Dairy Milk Mousse Bunny
  • Cadbury Mini Eggs

While Celiac.com places Cadbury Creme Eggs and several other Cadbury products in the SAFE section of our Gluten-free Easter Candy List for 2016, we do not recommend them for sensitive individuals. We also remind people to make decisions based on their own sensitivity and comfort levels, and to do their own research on any product they intend to consume.

We have added the following Cadbury products to the UNSAFE section of our Gluten-free Easter Candy List for 2016. These Cadbury products either contain listed gluten ingredients, or their possible allergen label lists wheat:

CADBURY UK

  • Dairy Milk Hollow Milk Chocolate Freddos
  • Dairy Milk Hollow Bunny
  • Dairy Milk Mini Hollow Bunnies
  • Dairy Milk Egg 'N' Spoon Chocolate
  • Dairy Milk Egg 'N' Spoon Vanilla
  • Dairy Milk Oreo Mini Filled Eggs

Contact information for CADBURY USA and CADBURY UK.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).










Related Articles



Comments




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


The Bakery On Main story began in the back of Owner, Michael Smulders' Natural Food Store in Glastonbury, CT. Many of his customers with Celiac Disease would visit the bakery and mention the lack of good-tasting, gluten-free options available to them. Upon learning this, Michael Smulders believed...

I used to drink Guinness, sometimes a half-n-half over Harp or Bass. I call Sam Adams a good light beer, and probably gave up on Budwiper and the like 30 years ago. So while it is nice to find companies making lots of "Yeah, that almost tastes like cheapo beer"....There's not a one of them that c...

Megan- I am not Catholic but I owe my gluten awareness to whoever was the Pope in 2004. There was a BIG piece in the national nooze media about some Roman Catholic girl in NJ who had celiac. Her parents were told by her priest and bishop that she should take the communion wafer anyway, and ...

....yeah that is the sad story of many of us...I think I went through what was it 6 doctors? or was it 7. I ran into one JUST like that 4 doctors ago. She was very condescending, and this was before my celiac dia. She practically worshiped the whole eat all whole grains, avoid dairy lifestyle. Sh...

I've had it twice and it was served to me different each time. The first time it was served warm in a sealed bag. The second time it was served warm, not in a sealed bag, but on their traditional paper. I should have refused the possible contaminated order, but I was hungry and in a hurry so I ac...