Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter
1 1
  • entries
  • comments
  • views

is Cheerios gluten free

2 2
Melissa Mandrick


A few years ago cheerios had aired commercial  saying that the cereal is gluten free by removing the wheat germ in in the gain. I don't get it I thought about cross-contamination .just because you remove it. I wish companies were not aloud to say the are gluten free because their factories aren't. For people who eat gluten and revive pain and damage from just the smallest speck that can only be seen through a microscope. And cheerios is a sponsor for celiac disease foundation. Its all hypocritical.  We put are trust that are food is safe. I don't feel safe when buying food with the lack of regulation for people who have celiac.

2 2


Recommended Comments

Regular Cheerios are made from oats and corn starch, so there is no wheat germ to remove. Thats why its the go to for most people - if they don't have an issue with oats or corn.  I discovered I have a sensitivity to corn and brown rice so I'm looking more closely at ingredients, though not specifically gluten related. I stumbled across this site in my research and was just looking at Cheerios ingredients. 

How long since you were diagnosed? Are you finding the changes you've made to be helping?

Share this comment

Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A19):

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
    • Most Online

    Newest Member

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):

  • Blog Statistics

    • Total Blogs
    • Total Entries

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):

  • Celiac.com Sponsors (A23):