Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
0
Mnoosh

peanut and nut butters? suggestions?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

What kind of peanut butter or nut butters do you all use? Do I really need to spend $10+ on a jar that specifically says "gluten free" or can I trust that say, trader joes peanut butter-which lists only dry roasted peanuts and salt as the ingredients, is safe? This is all so new to me, and I'm going to meet with a nutritionist in a few weeks to have some questions answered, but in the meantime I thought I'd ask here what you all do... Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I use the natural ones because I don't like any more preservatives than necessary. I haven't had any issues with the Skippy natural or the Peter Pan natural. It is peanuts, sugar, palm oil, and salt so no gluten containing items.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like kareng said, it really doesn't matter, but I still look at the ingredients on the label by habit now.  It may not have specifically the glutened grain products, but another sneaky ingredient I have found is maltodextrin, unless it specifically states it is made from corn. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

actually the last few years, many companies have come out with reasonable priced peanut butters. I suppose if want $10 peanut/alternate butters you can certainly find 10 dollar stuff, but I pay just $2.38 for jiffy honey roast and it is gluten free. But not all people can or like peanuts, so just shop around at dare I say it, yup,  Walmart to find a reasonably priced version of your desire!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 minutes ago, ceracea said:

I use the natural ones because I don't like any more preservatives than necessary. I haven't had any issues with the Skippy natural or the Peter Pan natural. It is peanuts, sugar, palm oil, and salt so no gluten containing items.

Regular Skippy has peanuts, oil and salt.  No preservatives


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, cstark said:

Like kareng said, it really doesn't matter, but I still look at the ingredients on the label by habit now.  It may not have specifically the glutened grain products, but another sneaky ingredient I have found is maltodextrin, unless it specifically states it is made from corn. 

Maltodextrin shouldn't be a gluten concern in the US.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0