Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
rarchy

Barley malt vinegar extract in Kettle crisps - safe?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Just wanted to see if you guys eat or avoid dried barley malt vinegar in crisps etc? I saw it was considered an allergen in the ingredients (http://www.kettlefoods.co.uk/our-hand-cooked-chips/kettle-chips/flavour/sea-salt-and-balsamic-vinegar/ingredients/) and so assumed it should be avoided, however I have since read conflicting information including on Coeliac UK's website - https://www.coeliac.org.uk/frequently-asked-questions/can-i-eat-barley-malt-vinegar/ 

In fact those crisps in question are on Coeliac UKs suitable to eat list in their food directory!

It seems very strange that the general advice is to not eat food such as Walkers crisps which don't even necessarily contain gluten but just have the warning "Made in the same factory as....", but something which actually contains gluten is apparently safe? 

Thoughts?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


We always say check the ingredients, even if it used to be gluten-free manufactures constantly change the recipe and you have to check the ingredient list on foods to be sure. I think that might be the case of why you find the product on the suitable list. Here in the US anything with barley extract or barley malt is not considered gluten-free. We have had multiple cases in the past year of companies trying to label products gluten-free that contain those. These are normally called out by consumers or groups like Gluten Free Watch dog who contact the proper people to have said products pulled from the shelves.

 


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi Ennis, thanks for the reply. I don't think they have changed the ingredients, as far as I know the barley malt vinegar has always been there, and the Coeliac UK list is pretty up to date I believe. Its weird as Coeliac Uk actually say on their website that barley malt vinegar is ok! I will give it a miss if this is what others do, best not to take the risk. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

6 minutes ago, rarchy said:

Its weird as Coeliac Uk actually say on their website that barley malt vinegar is ok! I will give it a miss if this is what others do, best not to take the risk. 

Coeliac UK occasionally strike a controversial note. I often saw arguments online about recommendations. I think they're generally guided by the prevailing science. 

My barley malt story is that I joined CUK and the guide became my Bible in the first months on the diet. One item on there was Aldi cornflakes, I like Aldi and some months later I saw them and decided to have them even though they listed barley malt on the box. I felt weird eating something with the forbidden ingredient but they were on the safe list so....

Within a few days I get a very itchy rash on my elbows. It's driving me mad and I put two and two together, the damned cornflakes!  I bin them and the rash luckily goes quickly. I check and on the new guide list the cornflakes have gone. Maybe they changed their recipe or maybe they should never have been listed in first place...

So although there's advice out there that barley malt levels in some cereals are low enough to tolerate I will never again risk it. Others may have a different view.

I would never have barley malt vinegar in liquid form. Thats definitely a problem. There are also salt and vinegar crisps out there without the barley in, I look for the cider vinegar ones although you still have to check the ingredients. With Kettle I eat the salted ones and not the salt and vinegar. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Thanks thats good to know, I did think some of what Coeliac UK said seemed to contrast with actual celiacs and their experiences. I am definitely going to stay on the stricter side. 

I have their food guide in printed form and the app, but to be honest I have just been checking the ingredients of whatever I buy, like we discussed my other post if it mentions "may contain..."  etc I will avoid. I am trying to eat less processed food now anyway so that makes it easier. 

In fact I kind of wonder what purpose the guide serves seeing as allergens have to be listed in ingredients (I know this wasn't the case pre-2014), isn't it just easiest to look at the ingredients that check a book/app each time, or is it because the foods in there are safe for cross contamination? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter