This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New & Confused

katrinamaria

katrinamaria Explorer

hi!

i'm new to celiac and am pretty overwhelmed! im in my first year of college and i'm struggling with the dining centers (they are not very understanding). right now i'm surviving on fruits, veggies & corn tortillas.... (i'm also a lifelong vegetarian) so i'm seriously craving a real meal!! and people around me have never heard of this and i'm embarrased to say anything cuz i get that look like i'm totally making this up or something...

any help you can give me about any of these things would be great!!!!

thanks soooo much!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

schuyler Apprentice

I'm pretty new at this too, so I don't know too much (sorry). I have been eating lots of rice and veggies (I'm also a vegetarian). I also like rice patsa and tapioca bread. Have you found any stores that sell gluten-free free foods? That's where I'd start (I go to Raleys and a local health foods store. I know that Trader Joe's and Whole Foods also have gluten-free foods). There are some online stores that have lots of things. I'm sorry that I don't have more info, but I just learning.

I'm also sorry about the dining centers not being understanding. I live at home, but on days when I have lots of classes I make sure to bring my own snacks (my school won't guarantee that any of the foods there are gluten-free, so I just bring my own). Again, I wish I knew more but I'm sure that some of the more experienced members will jump in an give you some more (and better) advice.

Good luck!

Danielle