This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Malt Barley

jstaib

jstaib Newbie

I am new to teh gluten-Free Diet. I took my self of of it 6 or more month ago. I had chest pain for 21 years and no one could tell me why. I happened on an article giving the symptoms of Celiac and decided the to stop gluten. I am felling much better.

Back to my question. What about malt barley? I see that Rice crispies has it. Can I have them or is malt barley harmful?

Confused!! :wacko:

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor
I am new to teh gluten-Free Diet. I took my self of of it 6 or more month ago. I had chest pain for 21 years and no one could tell me why. I happened on an article giving the symptoms of Celiac and decided the to stop gluten. I am felling much better.

Back to my question. What about malt barley? I see that Rice crispies has it. Can I have them or is malt barley harmful?

I'm sorry, you will have to give up the Rice Crispies. Wheat, Rye, Barley, Malt and some Oat are not to be consummed if you are on a gluten free diet.

There are several, equally as good, options to Rice Crispies. So, it's not a loss, just a trade off.

irish daveyboy Community Regular
I am new to teh gluten-Free Diet. I happened on an article giving the symptoms of Celiac and decided the to stop gluten. I am felling much better.

Hi 'jstaib',

This is a reply from the Irish Coeliac Society to a similiar question.

It is very informative.