Rate this topic

Hello. I am new to Celiac/Gluten sensitivity. I became very ill for a year and a half and was given test after test! It wasn't until I told my Doctor that I was developing a rash and trouble breathing after eating that we decided to have a blood test for food allergies. I have many allergies including gluten and wheat. My OBGYN thought that I also had Celiac. My doctor would not do the test as he thought them to be wrong most of the time and hard to do. He also said I would be skinny as a stick, I had gained almost 40 pounds during my 1.5 years of medical tests. He also said I would just have to go gluten free any way. So I have not been diagnosed with Celiac. I have been really good at keeping away from gluten but last week I had a reaction I have not had since cutting off gluten. When I looked up these symptoms they seemed to meet the symptoms of a celiac response. (I am still very tired and weak so I am sorry if this information is elsewhere and I have just missed it) I am looking to you for your experience with such reactions in case it happens again. I had intense, 10 on the pain scale, rib pain, light hotheadedness, labored breathing, tiredness, and diarrhea. If anyone has tips to share on what to do if this happens I would love to have them. The ribs hurting was so bad. I'm used to the rest with the other allergies and not having a gull bladder. Is there any use in going to the ER when this happens? Should I insist on the Celiac testing?

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

Heather

Hi, that was a very stupid doctor.

also, only 5% of celiacs are under-weight at diagnosis, as oppsosed to 39% over-weght or obese.

The body lacks nutrients and fatty acids and swithes on a survival mode and grabs lots of things from the food and stacks them up in the body.

I have also heard from people who gained water weight due to severe malabsorption and too little proteins in teh blood.