snapdragon

Can An Abscess Be Related To Coeliac?

Rate this topic

I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right section, I hope I am!

So, I've yet to be tested, but I've been sitting here thinking about some odd health problems I've had recently and was wondering about this one.

About a year ago, I got an abscess on my back. It had been there for years, I'd been told it was just a cyst, it was like a little hard lump under my skin. Suddenly it got really sore, and turned into an abscess. I was on some hard core antibiotics (which scared me because I was pregnant at the time) and it eventually went away.

Has anyone else had this? :huh:

Funny, I was thinking about this the other day. I've had two infected cysts in the past two years. I guess 3 if you count a burst ovarian cyst last year. Not sure if that falls into the same category. I had one on my upper back that had to be removed and a pilonidal cyst that I treated with hot compresses and then took antibiotics for.

I don't know for sure but my thinking is it's possible. If your immune system is suppressed it would have a hard time fighting off infection. That's my theory anyway. I haven't looked anything up about it though.

Ive had cysts and acne and absesses my whole life. and i just found out i have celiac. im convinced there is a connection.

This is interesting. A year prior to my celiac diagnosis, I developed a ganglion cyst on the palm of my hand (it's still there). 2 years prior to my diagnosis, I developed an abcess around a tooth that had been damaged in an accident many years ago. Not sure if either of these are related to the celiac, but it's entirely possible.