Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I saw a thread on another site about some celiac specialist who believes standard soy sauce does not contain any actual gluten because it's supposedly destroyed in the distillation process. As a chemist, this makes zero sense to me and I don't believe it. As a celiac, I react to soy sauce that's not gluten-free.

This specialist is in Finland, and supposedly does lots of research on the subject. Am I wrong here? There's no safe soy sauce unless it's gluten-free soy sauce, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most, but not all, soy sauce also contains wheat. If this is the case, the sauce is not gluten-free. In the US and Canada, the word "wheat" will appear on the label in such a case.

I don't believe there is anything in the manufacturing process that would remove the gluten. Distillation does remove gluten, but soy sauce is fermented, not distilled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't believe there is anything in the manufacturing process that would remove the gluten. Distillation does remove gluten, but soy sauce is fermented, not distilled.

Thank you. Fermented! That makes sense. I don't know a lot about soy sauce manufacturing but I didn't think distillation sounded right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was a discussion about Sunset Gourmet in June, who made the same claim: that the gluten could be fermented out of soy sauce. :rolleyes:

soy sauce

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for this!

It makes me sad how ignorant these companies can be. :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×