No popular authors found.

Categories

No categories found.


Join Celiac.com's forum / message board and get your questions answered! Our forum has nearly 1 MILLION POSTS, and over 62,000 MEMBERS just waiting to help you with any questions about celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. We'll see you there!






Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Gluten-free Easter Candy: Safe and Unsafe List 2016

Celiac.com 03/17/2016 - It's almost Easter, and that means candy! For folks with celiac disease, of course, that means gluten-free candy. Here is Celiac.com's list of Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy for Easter 2016.

Photo: jelly_beans--cc--chalene8.jpgBelow the list of SAFE candy, you will find a partial list of UNSAFE, NON–gluten–free candies, along with a partial list of major candy makers, with contact info, and links to their company websites.

Please keep in mind that this list is a work in progress, and should not be taken as complete, or definitive, but only as a basic guideline.

Before eating or sharing any candy on the list, be sure to read labels, check manufacturer information, and make your purchases according to your own best information, and your own sensitivity levels, or those of your children.

Please check manufacturer websites for official information on specific products.

For a more comprehensive list of gluten-free candy and candy manufacturers, see Celiac.com's Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Halloween Candy.

Safe, gluten-free candies for Easter 2016 include:

A

  • Andes Creme de Menthe Thins

B

  • Baby Ruth original and fun size
  • Bazooka Big Mix (contains bubble gum, bubble gum filled candy, candy chews, and bubble gum filled lollipops)
  • Bazooka Ring Pops
  • Bazooka Push Pops
  • Bazooka Baby Bottle Pops
  • Bit•O•Honey
  • Big Blow bubblegum
  • Bubbly lollipop and gum
  • Butterfinger bar, original and fun size

C

  • CADBURY USA:
    • Cadbury Caramel Eggs
    • Cadbury Creme Eggs
    • Cadbury Easter Egg Trail Pack
    • Cadbury Egg Heads
    • Cadbury Orange Creme Eggs
  • CADBURY UK:
    • Cadbury Caramel Eggs
    • Cadbury Creme Filled Eggs
    • Cadbury Creme Mini Filled Eggs
    • Cadbury Dairy Milk Buttons Chick
    • Cadbury Dairy Milk Mini Filled Eggs
    • Cadbury Dairy Milk Daim Mini Filled Eggs
    • Cadbury Dairy Milk Mousse Bunny
    • Cadbury Mini Eggs
  • Carousel Bubble Gum Eggs
  • Carousel Easter Egg Surprise Lollipops
  • Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis
  • Cry Baby Eggs

D

  • Dairy Good Easter bunnies (chocolate flavored, foil-wrapped)
  • Dairy Good Easter eggs (chocolate eggs)
  • Dairy Good Chocolate and White Chocolate Crosses
  • Disney Princess plastic eggs with candy and stickers inside
  • Dove Chocolates
  • Dove Chocolate Eggs
  • Dove Fairy Bunny hollow milk chocolate
  • Dove Solid Chocolate Bunnies, milk chocolate Ingredients
  • Dove Solid Chocolate Bunnies, dark chocolate
  • Dove Truffle Eggs
  • Dubble Bubble Eggs (egg-shaped bubble gum) and Speckled Bubble Gum

E

  • Easter Bunny Egg-head family filled with Power Candy

F

  • Farley's Kiddie Mix—contains Now & Laters, Jawbreakers, Super Bubble bubble gum, Tootsie Roll Midgees, Sassy Tarts and Smarties
  • Florida Natural Healthy Treats fruit snacks eggs
  • Frankford Marshmallow Chicks and Bunnies

G

  • Gimbal's candies

H

  • Haribo Gold-Bears
  • Heath milk chocolate English toffee bar and snack size - contains almonds
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bunnies, Springtime Flowers, and Crosses
  • Hershey's milk chocolate hollow egg with candy-coated milk chocolate eggs inside
  • Hershey's candy-coated milk chocolate eggs
  • Hershey's Solid Milk Chocolate Speedy Bunny and Princess Bunny
  • Hershey's milk chocolate hollow Bunny
  • Hershey's milk chocolate eggs
  • Hershey's Special Dark chocolate eggs
  • Hershey's Marshmallow Eggs
  • Hershey's Kisses
  • Hershey's Kisses filled with Caramel
  • Hershey's Kisses with Almond
  • Hershey's Nuggets (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds, Special Dark, Special Dark with Almonds),
  • Hershey's Skor Toffee Bars
  • Hot Tamales

J

  • Jelly Beans—Top gluten-free brands include:
  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
  • Just Born Jelly Beans
  • Just Born Marshmallow Treats

K

  • Kellogg's Spongebob Squarepants fruit flavored snacks
  • Kinder Surprise Eggs

L

  • Lemon Delight; Lime Delight; Mystery Flavored Marshmallow Chicks; Orange Delight; Party Cake; Sour Watermelon; and Sweet Lemonade Flavored Marshmallow Chicks
  • Lifesaver hard candies—Original and Pastels
  • Lifesaver Eggsortment (including jellybeans, gummies and pops)
  • Lifesaver Gummies—Original, and Bunnies and Eggs

M

  • Melster Chocolate Flavored Marshmallow Bunnies
  • M&M's—Original, Peanut, Speck-tacular Eggs, and Bunny Mix
  • M&M's Easter Pastel Colored Coconut M&M's
  • Mike and Ike Berry Blast
  • Mike & Ike Jelly Beans
  • Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
  • Mike and Ike Original
  • Mike and Ike Zours
  • Mounds Eggs

N

  • Nestle's Nest Eggs (EXCEPT Crunch Nest Eggs)
  • Nestle's milk chocolate Nest Eggs
  • Nestle's creamy caramel Nest Eggs
  • Nestle's Butterfinger chocolate Nest Eggs
  • Nestle's Butterfinger Creme Eggs

P

  • Palmer Holiday Candy
  • Palmer's Bunny Bites foil-wrapped eggs—all flavors
  • Palmer's Baby Binks hollow milk chocolate bunny
  • Palmer's Bunnyettes (milk chocolate)
  • Palmer's Butter Cream Flavored eggs
  • Palmer's Carrot Patch Pete
  • Palmer's Fudge Filled Big Ears
  • Palmer's Hollow Bunnies
  • Palmer's Little Beauty milk chocolate bunny
  • Palmer's Milk Chocolate Flavored and premium milk chocolate eggs
  • Palmer's Peanut Butter Filled chocolate eggs
  • Palmer Poppin' Rockin' Egg (hollow egg filled with Pop Rocks)
  • Palmer's Soft Caramel Cups
  • Palmer's Super Sports Balls
  • Peeps Chocolate Dipped Marshmallow Chicks
  • Peeps Chocolate Mousse Flavored Marshmallow Chicks
  • Peeps Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Chicks
  • Peeps Chocolate Mousse Flavored Marshmallow Bunnies
  • Peeps Decorated Marshmallow Eggs
  • Peeps Large Marshmallow Bunny
  • Peeps Marshmallow Bunnies—Yellow, lavender, pink, orange, green, blue, and white
  • Peeps Mystery Flavored Marshmallow Bunnies
  • Peeps Original Marshmallow Chicks—Yellow, white, orange, green, pink, blue, and lavender
  • Peeps Flavored Chicks, including:Blue Raspberry; Bubble Gum;
  • Peeps milk chocolate covered marshmallow
  • PEZ candy
  • Pixy Stix Green Grass (Wonka)
  • Giant Pixy Stix (Wonka)
  • Pop Rocks in plastic egg
  • PLASTIC EGGS WITH ASSORTED CANDY
    • Bee Flowers and Fairies Egg Hunt (contains Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
    • Bee Sport Ball Eggs (contains Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
    • Bee Noah's Ark Easter Egg Hunt (contains Smarties, Super Bubble bubble gum, Taffy Werks, Jelly Bean Werks, and Lemonheads)
    • Bug Collector Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Peace and Love Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Dress Up Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Farm Friends Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Game Time Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Glow in the Dark Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Mmmm…Cupcakes Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Red Hots, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Nighttime Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Outdoor Adventure Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Pet Shop Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Rainforest Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)
    • Speedster Cars Candy Filled Egg Hunt (contains Ferrara Pan jellybeans, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Jaw Busters)

R

  • Reese's Peanut ButterChocolate candy
  • Reese's Easter Assortment Eggs (including peanut butter eggs, white peanut butter eggs, and miniatures)—EXCEPT the foil-wrapped mini eggs, which contain gluten
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Cup miniatures
  • Reese's Pieces Pastel Eggs
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Eggs—large and small size, EXCEPT the foil-wrapped mini eggs, which contain gluten
  • Reese's Reester Bunny—large size only! Mini-sized unsafe
  • Ring pops
  • Russel Stover Pectin Jelly Beans

S

  • See's Candies—See's candies do not contain gluten
  • Sixlets
  • Skittles eggs and fun-size
  • Smarties candy rolls
  • Snickers mini's
  • Sour Patch Bunnies
  • Spree Jelly Beans—Cherry, Lemon and Green Apple
  • Surf Sweets Jelly Beans
  • Starburst fruit chews—All Original and Easter-themed Starburst candy, including jelly beans and special Easter candy packages
  • Starburst Jellybeans—original, tropical, and red fruits
  • Swedish Fish Eggs soft and chewy candy
  • Sunny Seed Drops chocolate covered sunflower seeds

T

  • Teenee Beanee Jelly Beans—including Americana Medley, Country Retreat, and Island Breeze flavored packages
  • Easter-themed Tootsie Roll candy, including Dubble Bubble Easter egg-shaped bubble gum, Tootsie Pops, Charms Blow Pops and Charms Candy Carnival products

W

  • Wonka Giant Chewy Nerds Jelly Beans
  • Wonka Everlasting Gobstopper Eggbreakers
  • Wonka Fun Dip
  • Wonka Giant Pixy Stix
  • Wonka Hoppin' Nerds
  • Wonka Runts Freckled Eggs
  • Wonka Egg Hunt with a Golden Egg (contains Nerds, Laffy Taffy, and SweeTarts)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt Zero Gravity (contains Nerds, Laffy Taffy, and SweeTarts)
  • Wonka Egg Hunt Hard 2 Find (contains Nerds, Runts, and SweeTarts)

Y

  • York Peppermint Patties

Z

  • Zachary real chocolate Marshmallow Eggs
  • Zachary solid milk chocolate Bunnies
  • Zipperz Lollipops

 

WARNING! THESE UNSAFE CANDIES CONTAIN OR MAY CONTAIN GLUTEN. THEY ARE UNSAFE FOR CELIACS:

A

  • AIRHEADS
  • Airheads Candies are "Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour."
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls contains wheat flour
  • ANNABELLE'S
    • Abba Zabba—Contains: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin, wheat/gluten
    • Big Hunk—Made in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
    • Look—Contains wheat/gluten
    • Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark—Contain wheat/gluten
    • U-No—Contains wheat/gluten
  • AMERICAN LICORICE CO.
    • Sour Punch Sticks, Twists, Bits, Bites, Straws—Contains wheat/gluten
    • Red Vines—all varieties contain wheat/gluten, including Black, Natural and Fruit Vines

B

  • Balmer Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
  • BRACH'S
  • All Brach's candy should be considered NOT gluten–free! Please be careful, as I have seen Brach's candies included on gluten-free safe lists!

C

  • CADBURY UK:
    • Dairy Milk Hollow Milk Chocolate Freddos
    • Dairy Milk Hollow Bunny
    • Dairy Milk Mini Hollow Bunnies
    • Dairy Milk Egg 'N' Spoon Chocolate
    • Dairy Milk Egg 'N' Spoon Vanilla
    • Dairy Milk Oreo Mini Filled Eggs
  • Child's Play Easter Mix—Made in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Chick Feed sunflower seeds "May contain wheat, peanuts, and tree nuts."

F

  • Ferrero Rocher candy—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Frankford Cookies and Creme Eggs—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Frankford Crispy Eggs (milk chocolate flavored)—Contains wheat/gluten, and made in a facility that uses peanuts and wheat
  • Frankford Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
  • Frankford solid milk chocolate bunny—Made in a facility that uses peanuts and wheat

G

  • Ghiardelli chocolate Easter eggs

H

  • Haribo
  • Haribo Black Licorice Wheels
  • Haribo Brixx
  • Haribo Fruity Pasta
  • Haribo Konfekt and Pontefract Cakes
  • Haribo Red Licorice Wheels
  • Haribo Sour S'ghetti
  • Hershey
    • Hershey's miniatures—Label states: "May contain wheat."
    • Hershey's Cookies 'n' Creme egg—Contains wheat/gluten
    • Hershey's Bliss (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Meltaway Center, White Chocolate with Meltaway Center, Milk Chocolate with Raspberry Meltaway Center, Dark Chocolate) – No gluten ingredients, but not on Hershey's official gluten-free list
    • Hershey's Good & Plenty
    • Hershey's Mr. Goodbar fun size

K

  • Kit Kat Bunny Ears and Kit Kat minis—Contains wheat/gluten

L

  • Lindt Chocolate — Lindt US website states that they "cannot guarantee that Lindt chocolate is gluten free."
  • Lindt chocolate carrots
  • Lindt Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)

M

  • Mayfair Kid's Play basket stuffers (including Fuit Chews, Teaberry Gumballs, Spout Bubble Log, Atomic Fireballs, Super Bubble bubble gum, Easter Pops, Jawbreakers, Airheads, Lemonhead, and Smarties—Made in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Mighty Malts Speckled Malted Milk Eggs —Contains wheat/gluten
  • Milky Way minis—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Milky Way Bunnies—Contains wheat/gluten

N

  • NESTLE
  • Butterfinger Crisp or Butterfinger Stixx—Contain wheat/gluten
  • Crunch—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Nestle Butterfinger Egg with pieces in chocolate—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Nestle Crunch Nest Eggs—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Hundred Grand Bar—Contains wheat/gluten

P

  • PAAS eggs—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Palmer's Double Crisp chocolate candy (including Bunnies, Bunnyettes, Pops, Chick a Dees, Bunny Munny and Eggs)—Contain wheat/gluten
  • Palmer's Lil' Crispy chocolate bunny—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Palmer's My Little Bunny—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Palmer's Cookies 'n Creme Eggs—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Palmer's Crispy Peanut Butter flavored eggs—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Palmer's Eggbert Double Crisp—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Palmer's Quax hollow milk flavored candy duck ("The Yummy Ducky")
  • Peter Rabbit real milk chocolate bunny—Made in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Peter Rabbit hollow milk chocolate bunny—Made in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and wheat

R

  • Reese's milk chocolate and peanut butter eggs (mini eggs foil-wrapped individually)—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Reese's mini-Reester Bunnies—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Russell Stover chocolate candy—Made in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and wheat

S

  • Snickers Eggs—Label states: May contain tree nuts, egg, and wheat
  • Snickers Creme Sports Eggs—Label states: May contain tree nuts, egg, and wheat
  • SpongeBob Squarepants Eggs plastic egg with sour candy and stickers—Made in a facility that uses peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • SpongeBob Squarepants gummy Krabby Patties—Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • SweetTart Gummy Bunnies (Wonka)—Contains wheat/gluten

T

  • Trolli Gummi Bunnies—Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Twix—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Twizzlerscandy—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Twizzlers Tweeters—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Twizzlers Rainbow Twists—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Twizzlers Strawberry Mini Bars—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Twizted Strawberry Blast pull-n-peel candy—Contains wheat/gluten

W

  • Whitman's Sampler—Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Whoppers Robin Eggs, including mini-Robbin Eggs—Contains wheat/gluten
  • Wonka's Eggs—Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Wonka Easter Nerds Rope—Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Wonka Mix-Ups (including SweeTart chews, Laffy Taffy, SweeTarts, and Nerds)—Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat
  • Wonka Oompas and the Wonka Bar are NOT gluten–free.

CANDY MANUFACTURERS

Here is a partial list of major candy manufacturers and how to contact them:

  • Adams & Brooks – 213-749-3226
  • American Licorice Co. – 866-442-2783
  • BEE International – 619-710-1800
  • Ferrara Candy Company – 888-247-9855
  • Ferrero Rocher – 732-764-9300
  • FLIX – 847-647-1370
  • Gimbal's Fine Candies – 888-841-9373
  • Goetze's Candy Company – 410-342-2010
  • Hershey's – 800–468–1714. Here's a link to Hershey's official gluten-free list.
  • Impact Confections – 303-626-2222
  • Jelly Belly – 800–522–3267
  • Just Born – 888–645–3453. Here's a link to Just Born Gluten-free FAQs
  • Kraft Foods – 877-535-5666
  • Mars Chocolate – 800–627–7852
  • Necco – 781–485–4800
  • Nestle USA – 800–225–2270
  • Palmer – 610 372-8971
  • Pearson's – 800–328–6507
  • PEZ – 203.795.0531
  • Pop Rocks – 770-399-1776
  • Tootsie Roll – 773–838–3400

Additional information and lists of gluten-free safe and unsafe candies can be found at:

  • About.com
  • Celiacfamily.com
  • DivineCaroline.com
  • Surefoodliving.com
  • Foodallergyfeast
  • Glutenfreefacts

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).



Related Articles




Spread The Word





6 Responses:

 
Katy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
17 Mar 2016 12:15:40 PM PST
So do Cadberry Cream Eggs have gluten or not? They are both on your safe list and your unsafe list?

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
18 Mar 2016 3:50:57 PM PST
Until we find out more info we removed them from the safe section.

 
dappy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
21 Mar 2016 9:38:03 AM PST
I don't see any wheat on Cadbury mini eggs which I have always eaten without getting sick.

 
Luann
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
21 Mar 2016 9:49:28 AM PST
Good to know. Informative for everyday use. Thank you.

 
Linda
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
21 Mar 2016 10:07:57 AM PST
This is great but my daughter is also intolerant of milk and all dairy products. Any lists for wheat AND dairy free?

 
Jeff
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
24 Mar 2016 2:42:14 PM PST
HERE'S A BRIEF UPDATE: In the U.S., Cadbury, and Cadbury Easter products are made by Hershey, which does not consider them to be gluten-free.

However, Cadbury Creme Eggs contain no gluten ingredients, and their label states that they are manufactured in a plant that also processes tree nuts and peanuts, but not wheat.

We will be adjusting our list shortly.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *: