Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is Malt Powder Gluten Free?


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 rtc

 
rtc

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
 

Posted 19 April 2010 - 05:17 PM

Hello,

Just found out to my dismay that Bryer's Carbsmart Fudge Bars

contain Malt Powder.

Missed it on earlier checks.

Good luck trying to find it on a Unilever site.

They do claim to list gluten stuff but one would expect the

usual wheat,rye,oats,etc at the bottom-this is just another

ingredient in the list.

Have had no reactions.

BTW,have an extra box,free to a good home <G>.

Thanks in advance...ron
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,072 posts
 

Posted 19 April 2010 - 05:29 PM

Breyers is indeed a Unilever brand, and they will clearly disclose ALL sources of gluten by naming the grain in the ingredients list. If it does not say "malt powder (barley)" or "barley malt powder" in the ingredients then it is not barley. Malt can also be made from rice. From the information that you provided in you post, I see no reason to doubt that the product is gluten-free.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 Mskedi

 
Mskedi

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 197 posts
 

Posted 19 April 2010 - 06:32 PM

I never considered malt could be made out of anything but barley! The things I learn...

I LOVE malt, so this is pretty exciting. I'm going to have to find some rice-based malt to load up on! :D
  • 0

#4 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 20 April 2010 - 08:00 AM

Generally speaking we need to assume that malt is made from barley because it usually is, but any grain can be malted, such as sorghum for gluten-free beer.

richard
  • 0

#5 CeliacMom2008

 
CeliacMom2008

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 620 posts
 

Posted 20 April 2010 - 09:55 AM

Off Breyer's website:

User:
Can you tell me if Breyer's Carbsmart Fudge Bars are gluten free?

Agent:
We recommend consumers read the label each time before buying our product. If gluten is present, it is clearly listed in plain language on the ingredient label (i.e., wheat flour, rye, barley, oats, and malt). Malt is a barley based ingredient.

We do not publish a list of gluten-free flavors.



That's an important piece of info. To me it implies Unilever is now clumping malt directly into the wheat, rye, barley, oats category. So watch your malt on Unilever and don't eat those fudge bars!!
  • 0

#6 StephanieGF

 
StephanieGF

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts
 

Posted 20 April 2010 - 01:15 PM

Interesting thread. If I see malt listed I have always assumed it is from barley unless specially stated otherwise. It sounds like Unilever thinks the same way.
That said, I have never seen malt from rice in any product, I would love to know what had rice malt in it? That sounds yummy.
  • 0

#7 rtc

 
rtc

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
 

Posted 24 April 2010 - 12:02 PM

Thanks to all who replied to my post,am now
recovering from the fudge bars.

Special thanks to Celiacmom for finding the info on their website.

I was unable to find a Unilever-Breyers FAQ,phone number
and my letter to them was returned today as undeliverable
(sent to adr on box).

Have never encountered a company who just did not wish to
hear from their customers.

Doubt if I will ever try Breyers again...rtc
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: