5 replies to this topic

#1 samhodges

samhodges

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 05:41 AM

Hi all newbie here. I have been reading some forums and some say rice contains gluten although it doesnt affect people and others say it does so avoid it? I have avoided all gluten/wheat to the best of my knowledge for the past 3 months or so but im starting to think the bacon i have been eating every morning has something in it? Some people are saying bacon is a processed meat and so contains wheat/gluten? Any thoughts on this?

Thanks.

Sam.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 05:59 AM

Hi, Sam,

The word "gluten" has two senses.

To a biologist or chemist, it refers to the prolamine storage protein of a grain--any grain. That includes rice and corn.

To a dietitian, and as used here, it refers to a subset comprising the gluten in wheat, rye and barley. These are the ones that trigger the celiac disease reaction. Oats are generally included because some celiacs react to oat gluten, but also because commercially produced oats are invariably contaminated with wheat.

So, rice and corn contain gluten in the first sense of the word, but are safe for celiacs.

I have never in all my time seen bacon which contained gluten. I'm not saying it is impossible, but it certainly isn't common.
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 kareng

kareng

Be Royal

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,113 posts

Posted 19 October 2012 - 06:00 AM

Rice is safe for Celiacs. Most bacon is gluten-free - read the ingredients.