Get email alerts Get E-mail Alerts Sponsor: Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE email alerts

Rice And Bacon Question

6 posts in this topic

Hi all newbie here. I have been reading some forums and some say rice contains gluten although it doesnt affect people and others say it does so avoid it? I have avoided all gluten/wheat to the best of my knowledge for the past 3 months or so but im starting to think the bacon i have been eating every morning has something in it? Some people are saying bacon is a processed meat and so contains wheat/gluten? Any thoughts on this?




Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ads by Google:

Hi, Sam,

The word "gluten" has two senses.

To a biologist or chemist, it refers to the prolamine storage protein of a grain--any grain. That includes rice and corn.

To a dietitian, and as used here, it refers to a subset comprising the gluten in wheat, rye and barley. These are the ones that trigger the celiac disease reaction. Oats are generally included because some celiacs react to oat gluten, but also because commercially produced oats are invariably contaminated with wheat.

So, rice and corn contain gluten in the first sense of the word, but are safe for celiacs.

I have never in all my time seen bacon which contained gluten. I'm not saying it is impossible, but it certainly isn't common.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice is safe for Celiacs. Most bacon is gluten-free - read the ingredients.

Not to confuse you but gluten is really a word that we use incorrectly. All grains have different types of "gluten". The types of gluten Celiacs need to avoid are the kind found in wheat, rye, barley & oats for some people. Rather than naming each type of gluten, the world had taken to calling the "bad" gluten types "gluten".

Some people go grain free, at least for awile, but it is not necessary for most Celiacs and is not because of "gluten".

Clear as mud? :ph34r:

Looks like Peter and I were posting at the same time.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

As a newbie, I encourage you to read EVERY label. It's the best way to not only get educated, but also to help you learn the "suspect ingredients" much faster.

I know when I was first diagnosed, some trips to the grocery store were over an hour, as I was reading every label.

Good luck. It gets easier!


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

When we first start the gluten-free diet, many of us have quite a bit of damage that heeds to be healed. LOTS of foods can be hard on a damaged gut so it is best to stick to simple whole foods (meat, fruit, and vegetables) and stay away from processed foods. You may be reacting to some of the chemicals in the bacon right now. Give yourself time to heal and try it again.

But when you DO get back to bacon, try white rice with crispy bacon crumbled in it, and some mushrooms sauteed in LOTS of butter. Mix it all together and you've got a side dish that will taste better than the main course.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
    • Total Posts
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • First, do you have celiac disease?  Have you recently had a celiac antibodies follow-up blood test panel to see if gluten has been actually getting into your diet by accident or through cross contamination?  If you haven't had the test, you should ask your doctor for one.  You could also also ask for a follow-up endoscopy to see if you intestines have truly healed.  This will rule out if gluten is really the problem.    If you don't have celiac, I assume you have Non-celiac gluten Intolerance because no one would stick to the gluten-free diet for six years unless you have had reductions in symptoms.  There is no test for NCGI unfortunately.  So, it is hard to say if gluten has been sneaking into your diet.  You really are going to have to try to figure out if you are getting gluten into your diet.  If gluten is not the problem, then your doctor needs to check you for other issues, like SIBO. There is a test to check for SIBO.  Has this been done?   Once a celiac, always a celiac.  There is no cure for celiac disease except to remain on a gluten free diet for life.  I am not sure about NCGI.  Not much research has been done.  Maybe others can chime in?    
    • I am so confused right now.... 6 years ago I went on gluten free diet... after being on it for the first yr I was 100%better up until 5 months ago in got the "flu" the doctors told me to cut out dairy sonic did and my diarrhea  became better but not completely gone would not have it every day tho. I went to the gi doctor and they said to cut out fructose and dairy and keep gluten out... yesterday I went to the dietitian to see what I can eat and she gave me the list for fructose... she said it should have been on a antibiotic for sibo.... eventually I will be able to add dairy back and maybe gluten.... I said how can I add gluten back when this was my first problem... she goes well through fructose goes hand in hand with it... I said with gluten I vomit and am sick for weeks.... fructose isn't that bad I vomit sometimes but I'm not sick for weeks.... I'm just confused on really what is going on and was wondering if you or someone you know had sibo from gluten and or fructose and how Is this all related?
    • I see no one has responded to your query.  Unfortunately I have yet to try making a pie crust.  It was something I never mastered before going gluten free.  Have you looked on Pinterest?  You might find something there.
    • I honestly feel like both doctors think it's all in my head even though there is proof.  Yeah there was a point when I felt crazy.  That was when I was being shuffled from dr to dr being given individual diagnoses of my problems.  None of those diagnoses ever made me get better.  Seriously I was diagnosed with heart palpitations, neurocardiogenic syncope, I was given a butt load of steroids because a dr felt like I was producing too much adrenaline, freaking had a few tell me I was depressed, and the good ol IBS.  It seemed most wanted to push pills.  It's all just ridiculous!
    • I can't believe your doctors!!! You have a daughter who is dx'd already! Yet the ped doesn't want to test your other kids unless you have a dx????!!! Are you kidding me???!!! That's absurd!!! They have a first degree relative who has been dx'd with celiac already. There is no need to wait to see what you turn out to be!! And then, and then, and then....don't even get me started on your doctor!!! Does he have brain damage? Oh this is insane & ridiculous!  I have never heard of a disease that doctors are so unwilling to consider or test for OR to diagnose as this one! Usually they are hot to trot to make a dx but say the word celiac & they shake in their boots. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
    • Most Online

    Newest Member