Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    Are M&M's Gluten-Free and Safe for Celiacs?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Find out which M&M's candies are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.


    M&M World Las Vegas. Image: CC0 1.0--Bernard Spragg
    Caption: M&M World Las Vegas. Image: CC0 1.0--Bernard Spragg

    Celiac.com 09/16/2020 - M&M's candies do not advertise or label their products as gluten-free. However, with a few exceptions, their candies are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.

    In September, 2019, Nima Sensors tested twelve flavors of M&M's, including several flavors that indicated that they may contain wheat. Of the twelve M&M's flavors tested by Nima, only two flavors tested positive for gluten. Those were Pretzel M&M’s, which lists wheat flour as an ingredient, and Crispy M&M's, which had no ingredient warning but do contain barley malt, which isn't gluten-free.

    The following ten other M&M's flavors tested negative for wheat or gluten, including several that warned that they "may contain wheat" (we recommend avoiding ones with this warning): 

    • Milk Chocolate M&M’s
    • Peanut M&M’s
    • Peanut Butter M&M’s
    • Mint Chocolate M&M’s
    • White Chocolate M&M's
    • Coffee Nut M&M's
    • Carmel M&M's
    • Thai Coconut Peanut M&M's
    • Almond M&M's
    • Hazelnut Spread M&M's



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Several M&M's flavors regularly contain wheat ingredients. However, in the case of Crispy M&M's, the label contained no wheat ingredients, yet Nima detected gluten. That means it's good to be careful, and maybe stick to flavors that are known to be safe, and which have a good track record among celiacs.

    These M&M's are gluten-free by ingredients, and celiacs have been eating them for years without issues (these don't have a "may contain wheat" warning):

    • Milk Chocolate M&M’s
    • Peanut M&M’s
    • Peanut Butter M&M’s
    • Almond M&M's

    Nima published the results of their M&M's tests on their website.

    Check the official M&M's website for more info.

    Remember, ingredients and product formulations can change. Even though Mint Chocolate M&M’s, Coffee Nut M&M's, Carmel M&M's, and Thai Coconut Peanut M&M's tested negative for gluten, some of these flavors may contain wheat. Always read labels carefully. When in doubt, double-check manufacturer websites, or call manufacturers directly. Tp be safe, avoid varieties that have a "may contain wheat" warning.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/22/2019 - We see a lot of questions about the gluten-free status of certain foods, candies, or snacks. One of the most common product questions we see is: Are Snickers candy bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is yes! Currently, all flavors of Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, Snickers fun size and Snickers mini's are gluten-free, according to website for parent company Mars. The longer answer is that it's always wise to check, as product formulation can change, sometimes suddenly.
    Look to Manufacturers for Gluten and Allergen Information
    Manufacturers are required to list any allergens on ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/26/2020 - How do you figure out which Halloween candy is gluten-free and safe for you and your loved ones? You check out the Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, of course!
    Here's our best, most comprehensive, most up-to-date list of safe, gluten-free Halloween candy, along with a list of unsafe candy that contains gluten and should be avoided.
    This year, we’ve added candies to both the SAFE Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, and to our UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list. We’ve also added more manufacturer contact information for easier answers to gluten-free questions.
    Celiac.com strives to mak...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 04/08/2020 - Because so many candy companies make special products for Easter, here is Celiac.com's list of Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy for Easter and kosher gluten-free candies for Passover.  Below the list of SAFE candy, you will find a list of UNSAFE, NON–gluten–free candies, along with a partial list of major candy makers with links to their company websites. Please keep in mind that while we strive to be as comprehensive as possible, the list is not intended to be authoritative, or definitive, and should only be used as a guideline. 
    Before eating any candy on the list, be sure to read labels, check manufacturer’s information, and ga...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 04/21/2020 - We've had more than a few requests for a handy list of top candy bars that are gluten-free. If you're candy bar lover looking for a reliable source of gluten-free candy bars, then look no further. These major brands of candy bars are widely available, reliably gluten-free, and deliver good bang for the buck. 
    Major Brands of Gluten-Free Candy Bars
    Snickers Candy Bar  3 Musketeers Candy Bar  Baby Ruth Candy Bar  Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar Payday Almond Joy Butterfinger Candy Bar Reese's Peanut Butter Cups Oh Henry Candy Bars  Bit O Honey Candy Bar ...