Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:


  • Join Our Community!

    Get help in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Jefferson Adams

    Distillery Under Fire for Labeling Vodka and Gin as "Gluten-free"

    Jefferson Adams


    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Caption: Photo shows Japan's Yamazaki distillery. Photo: CC--Toukou Sousui

    Celiac.com 06/18/2015 - An Irish distillery has run afoul of regulatory authorities over labels that tout its gin and vodka as "gluten-free." The artisanal, Cork-based, St Patrick's Distillery claims it is a common misconception that all gin and vodkas were gluten-free.

    The company claims that, since its products are made with gluten-free ingredients, its labels are accurately distinguishing its vodka and gin from other products made with wheat. However, after numerous complaints, the Food Safety Authority of Ireland plans to follow up on the distillery's claims.



    Celiac.com Sponsor:




    The FSAI points out that all distilled beverages are gluten-free, calls the claims misleading, and says the company could be in breach of strict Irish food-labeling laws.

    A spokesperson for th FSAI said: "Under the Food Information for Consumers Regulation, the food information must not mislead the consumer by suggesting that the food possess special characteristics when, in fact, all similar foods (in this case, vodka and gin) possess such characteristics."

    Niamh O'Connor, who runs Cork Nutrition, said she that she was incredulous about the company's claims.

    "It is an absolute indisputable fact that distilled spirits are gluten-free, even if gluten-containing grains are used as a raw ingredient," said O'Conner. "Therefore…all gin and vodka products are gluten-free so one cannot label their own product as "gluten-free."

    Ireland's Coeliac Society, which supports people with the food intolerance, described the claims from St Patrick's Distillery as "unhelpful".

    "Wine, spirits, and cider are gluten free," said the society's Gráinne Denning.

    In addition to labeling their gin and vodka as "gluten-free," the company also refers to their new range of spirits as being lactose free. Of course, all distilled spirits are naturally dairy free and lactose free.

    What do you think? Are such labels helpful, or misleading?

    Share your thoughts below.


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    I think this labeling IS helpful. Some vodkas etc. have additives that might make them not gluten free (like flavorings). If all spirits were labeled it would just make it easier. We aren't all food experts. And we have all had the experience of finding gluten in something that should be naturally gluten free.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    I think this labeling IS helpful. Some vodkas etc. have additives that might make them not gluten free (like flavorings). If all spirits were labeled it would just make it easier. We aren't all food experts. And we have all had the experience of finding gluten in something that should be naturally gluten free.

    Oops. I meant to say a PhD chemist, not physicist, in my above comment. Here is the link to explain why ALL alcohol made from glutenous grains contains gluten:

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Brenda Loughnane

    Posted

    I find this article very interesting and I think the company should be allowed to label the product gluten-free. I myself have been ill after drinking Baileys, which contains whiskey.

    This is a quote from Baileys' website "The ingredients used in Baileys are Gluten free. On the basis of this and to the best of our knowledge there are no traces of Gluten in Baileys. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a Gluten free diet should consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys."

    I note that they say "to the best of their knowledge", which, to me, indicates that they do not run tests for gluten.

     

    Another article I found interesting is from 2009 by No Gluten, No Problem. They are indicating that the problem with gluten found in spirits is from after distillation. The gluten gets in the product via cross-contamination and distillation practices by the company.

     

    My personal opinion is that there could be trace amounts and that the distillation process makes alcohol safe only for "most coeliacs" and therefore is deemed gluten free by all organisations. The only time I would contradict this is if a product is solely using naturally gluten free ingredients and not making any other gluten containing ingredients in their factory.

     

    I was diagnosed a hyper-sensitive coeliac (by The Royal Free Hospital in London) and cannot tolerate any trace amounts. They advised me, as I was still ill after 1 year of a gluten free diet, to avoid anything that contained the Codex Wheat Starch (Codex Alimentarius), which I knew nothing about at the time. I find the coeliac organisations and companies promoting products that are safe for "most" coeliacs an absolute insult to the coeliacs that cannot tolerate these foods or drinks of which a high proportion contain some form of gluten. Now in the UK they do not even have to declare it on the label, if it is 20ppm or less, as it is considered safe!! So, I have to eat something and then get extremely ill and then I know it contains a small amount of gluten.

    I would like to ask that if everyone who is hyper sensitive like myself, please campaign to whomever you can to get coeliac/celiac disease graded as they have done with other diseases. For example, Grade/Type 1 for those who are hyper sensitive, Grade/Type 2 for "most coeliacs", Grade/Type 3 for medically diagnosed gluten intolerance or allergy. I think that this will help all of us whatever our Grade/Type, ensure that organisations and companies treat us all as individuals and not place us under their "umbrellas" and hopefully manufacturers will label their products accordingly.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    I think this labeling IS helpful. Some vodkas etc. have additives that might make them not gluten free (like flavorings). If all spirits were labeled it would just make it easier. We aren't all food experts. And we have all had the experience of finding gluten in something that should be naturally gluten free.

    Sue is absolutely correct. I had a terrible experience with one shot of a root beer flavored vodka (not from consuming too much, I should add) and researched later (since the label indicated nothing) only to find that the additive did contain gluten. Similar with other foods that should be "naturally" gluten free, all spirits are NOT created equal. If something is truly gluten free, and the manufacturer wishes to attract a consumer who cares about such things (like me and my non-celiac family members and friends who support my special needs), PLEASE feel free to label it as such!!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I have reactions to distilled alcohols in the past. I don't believe that distilling ingredients removes the effect. I had selectively removed beer and certain vodkas from my diet long before I heard about gluten intolerance. I just knew that if I drank them, I would be sick.

     

    I was amazed when I finally figured out that the vodkas I had eliminated long before knowing anything about gluten, were those that were grain based. Potato vodka didn't have the same effect.

     

    I would like to know if my alcohol is made with gluten containing ingredients because it MAKES a difference to me.

     

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Elizabeth Drew

    Posted

    I welcome the labeling, as I have found that one cannot assume that a product that should logically be gluten free actually is. When I was diagnosed with celiac disease in Ireland, I was informed by the dietitian that Smirnoff Vodka (the most commonly available brand there) was not gluten free due to some aspect of the way it was processed. I have also been told that some whiskey distillers add small amounts of barley mash into the finished product to enhance the flavors, although I imagine this practice must be rare. Also, when flavorings are added to distilled spirits, there is usually no information about ingredients, let alone potential allergens, listed on labels.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Oops. I meant to say a PhD chemist, not physicist, in my above comment. Here is the link to explain why ALL alcohol made from glutenous grains contains gluten:

    They are mistaken, as distillation removes all traces of gluten.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I am not going to argue about the presence of gluten in vinegar or alcohol products, but I have a bad enough allergy to wheat and grains to react badly to any vinegars or alcoholic drinks that have been made from grains. So I would like to see more labeling, but since gluten free only imparts some information, would rather see grain free on labels as well.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I DEFINITELY still react to the distilled final product when gluten containing ingredients are used. So do many other sensitive celiacs like me. It would be nice to not have to call each company and/or do tons of 'net research to find out which drinks I can tolerate. I'm all for labeling that tells me not only about ingredients but also manufacturing and chance of CC right on the label. Wouldn't that be refreshing... Kind of like a nice cold mixed drink.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.

  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Frederik Willem Janssen is head of the Chemistry Department, Food Inspection Service in Zutphen, and a subsidiary of the Inspector of Health Protection (similar to the FDA in America). Their lab has a special interest in.... modified gluten, edible packaging materials (which may contain gluten), and detection of hidden gluten in foods, including the development of improved...

    Scott Adams
    White vinegar or just plain vinegar are typically distilled, and, if so, are gluten-free. Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things. Most in the USA are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all safe (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegars that...

    Rebecca  Herman
    Celiac.com 06/27/2011 - In order to protect the propriety of their products, distilleries can be reluctant to disclose process details. Yet their disclosure is crucial for those of us who are unable to consume gluten.  Recently, I investigated a potato vodka and gin distillery in Freeport, Maine where this is not the case.
    Don Thibodeau, president of Green Thumb Farms, launched ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 12/19/2013 - There's a bit of controversy following an interim ruling by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) that has permitted a number of companies to advertise certain products as 'gluten-free.'
    Blue Ice vodka’s American Potato Vodka became the first spirit to receive gluten-free labeling in May 2013. The 'gluten-free' label, says Thomas Gibson, ...

  • Celiac.com Sponsor:

  • Forum Discussions

    It sounds like the equipment in most places would be pretty easy to clean if its made of metal. but if cross contamination with oats starts in the field you could literally just have a wheat stock in the batch which is totally different than...
    Try Ground Flax Seeds like by Gerbs Allergen Friendly Foods. Whole flax seeds do not break down well and can clump up. They might be irritating your gut, a ground version can be easier broken down and does not form rough clumps. Psyllium...
    Thank you for your response, I really appreciate it. I decided to give flaxseeds another go. I am starting with a low dose and so far so good. I really think the health benefits of chia and flax seeds are worth the try. Also, psyllium husk ...
×
×
  • Create New...