Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Is Trix Cereal Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Wondering if Trix cereal is gluten-free for celiac kids? Look no further.


    Image: CC BY 2.0--JeepersMedia
    Caption: Image: CC BY 2.0--JeepersMedia

    Celiac.com 01/08/2021 - We know Trix is for kids, but is Trix cereal gluten-free for celiac kids?

    We get a lot of questions about which breakfast cereals are gluten-free, and we recently made up a list of nearly one hundred gluten-free breakfast cereals



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    We've also compiled a list of unsafe non-gluten-free breakfast cereals. But, the questions keep coming, especially about some of the most popular cereals that are not gluten-free.

    The number of popular breakfast cereals that are not gluten-free is too long to count, but we get a lot of questions about Trix. Specifically, is Trix gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?

    According to the General Mills Web site, Trix does not contain any gluten ingredients, however, they do not use the "gluten-free" claim on their label. They also do not include "wheat" as a possible allergen and say "Does Not Contain Any of the 8 Major Allergens":

    Quote

    (Regular Box) Ingredients: 

    Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Rice Flour, Corn Syrup, Canola Oil, Salt, Trisodium Phosphate, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1 And Other Color Added, Citric Acid, Malic Acid. Vitamins And Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Tricalcium Phosphate, Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), Iron And Zinc (Mineral Nutrients), A B Vitamin (Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B (Thiamin Mononitrate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), A B Vitamin (Folic Acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

     

    Quote

    (Food Service Single Serving) Ingredients & Allergens

    WHOLE GRAIN CORN, CORN MEAL, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, CANOLA OIL, SALT, COLOR (VEGETABLE AND FRUIT JUICE, TURMERIC EXTRACT, ANNATTO EXTRACT), TRISODIUM PHOSPHATE, NATURAL FLAVOR, CITRIC ACID, MALIC ACID. VITAMINS AND MINERALS: CALCIUM CARBONATE, TRICALCIUM PHOSPHATE,IRON AND ZINC (MINERAL NUTRIENTS), VITAMIN C (SODIUM ASCORBATE), A B VITAMIN (NIACINAMIDE), VITAMIN B6 (PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE),VITAMIN B1 (THIAMIN MONONITRATE), VITAMIN A (PALMITATE), VITAMIN B2 (RIBOFLAVIN), A B VITAMIN (FOLIC ACID), VITAMIN B12, VITAMIN D3.

    So, Trix is naturally gluten-free, and doesn't include "wheat" as an allergen warning, so it may be suitable for some children (or adults) with celiac disease. However, Celiac.com recommends that people with celiac disease choose a cereal that does include "gluten-free" on its packaging because this means that the manufacturer is actively monitoring each batch for cross-contamination issues, and it appears that this may not be happening yet with Trix cereal.

    Check the company website for more information on Trix and other General Mills products.

    Source: generalmillscf.comgeneralmills.com

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Guest MHM Celiac Dx 2008

    Posted

    Trix Ingredient List from the GM website:

    WHOLE GRAIN CORN, SUGAR, RICE FLOUR, CORN SYRUP, CANOLA OIL, SALT, TRISODIUM PHOSPHATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, RED 40, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1 AND OTHER COLOR ADDED, CITRIC ACID, MALIC ACID. VITAMINS AND MINERALS: CALCIUM CARBONATE, TRICALCIUM PHOSPHATE, VITAMIN C (SODIUM ASCORBATE), IRON AND ZINC (MINERAL NUTRIENTS), A B VITAMIN (NIACINAMIDE), VITAMIN B6 (PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE), VITAMIN B2 (RIBOFLAVIN), VITAMIN B1 (THIAMIN MONONITRATE), VITAMIN A (PALMITATE), A B VITAMIN (FOLIC ACID), VITAMIN B12, VITAMIN D3.

    Unlike their other products, Trix DOES NOT include their standard "MAY CONTAIN WHEAT INGREDIENTS" note in the ingredients/allergens list. Trix might have gluten hidden somewhere, but no wheat flour as stated above...nonetheless, knowing GM, if it was able to be labeled gluten-free, they would probably label it as such.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/25/2015 - General Mills has announced that original Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios and three other Cheerios varieties will undergo formula changes, including a switch to gluten-free oats, and will be released as a gluten-free cereal.
    The move by the food and cereal giant mirrors a similar recipe change that successfully boosted sales for its Chex brand, which has been gluten-free since 2010.
    The company will likely begin selling gluten-free versions in July, says Jim Murphy, president of Big G Cereals, General Mills' ready-to-eat cereal division.
    Apparently, General Mills felt that that could no longer ignore the skyrocketing sales...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 12/13/2016 - One in five people with celiac disease have a sensitivity to oats. Could that be the real issue behind claims of adverse reactions to Cheerios and other General Mills products?
    In an effort to answer questions regarding the safety of gluten-free Cheerios for people with celiac disease, we recently ran an article on warnings by the Canadian Celiac Association that Cheerios, and other General Mills cereals labeled 'Gluten-Free' are unsafe, are likely to be contaminated with trace amounts of gluten.
    Celiac.com found those claims to be lacking in evidence, and grounded mainly on unsupported claims that the proprietary process ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/24/2020 - For people with celiac disease, and those who are gluten-free for other medical reasons, it can be a battle to get a good, reliable brand and flavor of gluten-free ice cream. True, most ice cream is made without gluten ingredients and may be gluten-safe, even if not labeled "Gluten-Free." However, the trouble starts with added ingredients, especially cookies, or cookie dough, among others. Be especially careful of any cookies or cookie dough ingredients.
    Just in time for summer, here are more than a hundred top gluten-free ice cream brands and flavors that are widely available at stores near you. Do you have a favorite ice ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 12/31/2020 - One question we get a lot is about gluten-free breakfast cereals. Specifically, which brands of breakfast cereals are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    Finding a good gluten-free breakfast cereal can be a challenge. Fortunately more and more manufacturers are making gluten-free breakfast cereals, so the choices are many. Here are nearly a hundred of America's top gluten-free cereal brands. These top breakfast cereal brands are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Note that some cereals on this list use gluten-free oats...