Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Welcome to Celiac.com

  • Member Statistics

    84,314
    Total Members
    4,125
    Most Online
    Sandy Campbell
    Newest Member
    Sandy Campbell
    Joined
  • 2 2

    Did You Miss the Gluten-Free Fireworks This Past Fourth of July?


    Jefferson Adams
    • Fourth of July celebrations in the town of Springdale, Arkansas got a bit more fun and interesting when a sign advertising "Gluten Free Fireworks" popped up near a fireworks stand.

    Did You Miss the Gluten-Free Fireworks This Past Fourth of July?
    Image Caption: Image: CC--MATSUOKA Kohei

    Celiac.com 08/14/2018 - Occasionally, Celiac.com learns of an amusing gluten-free story after the fact. Such is the case of the “Gluten-Free Fireworks.” 

    We recently learned about a funny little event that happened leading up to Fourth of July celebrations in the town of Springdale in Northwest Arkansas. It seems that a sign advertising "Gluten Free Fireworks" popped up near a fireworks stand on interstate 49 in Springdale. 

    In case you missed the recent dose of Fourth of July humor, in an effort to attract customers and provide a bit of holiday levity, Pinnacle Fireworks put up a sign advertising "gluten-free fireworks.” 

    The small company is owned by Adam Keeley and his father. "A lot of the people that come in want to crack a joke right along with you," Keeley said. "Every now and then, you will get someone that comes in and says so fireworks are supposed to be gluten-free right? Have I been buying fireworks that have gluten? So then I say no, no they are gluten-free. It's just a little fun."

    Keeley said that their stand saw a steady flow of customers in the week leading up to the Fourth. In addition to selling “gluten-free” fireworks, each fireworks package sold by Pinnacle features a QR code. The code can be scanned with a smartphone. The link leads to a video showing what the fireworks look like.

    We at Celiac.com hope you and your family had a safe, enjoyable, and, yes, gluten-free Fourth of July. Stay tuned for more on gluten-free fireworks and other zany, tongue-in-cheek stories.

    Read more at kark.com

     

    2 2


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    I guess I fail to see the humor in this.  Mis use of marketing terms can lead to confusion for firework manufacturer s and other distributors and retailers of fireworks.  It may help generate traffic to the store, (at the expense of celiacs, ) but it likely can cause confusion for the industry. It's possible other firework retailers are asked how come they don't sell gluten free fireworks. I've worked phone center lines in past  and this would generate business for him and countless unnecessary calls as well as false advertising claims for others. Does Mr. Keeley charge more for them too? I hope he donates some of his profits to a celiac charity. His disdain is overt.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Rick

    Posted

    "Gluten Free" is such a funny punch line, rolling my eyes and shaking my head.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,000 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in biology, anatomy, medicine, and science. He previously served as Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and provided health and medical content for Sharecare.com.

    Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book Dangerous Grains by James Braly, MD and Ron Hoggan, MA.

  • Popular Contributors

  • Related Articles

    Destiny Stone
    A Gluten-Free 4th of July
    Celiac.com 06/11/2010 - Most American parades and festivals revolve around good old fashioned American food. Most people will be enjoying  corn-dogs, french fries, waffle-cone sundaes and funnel cakes. Fourth of July celebrations are not likely to be very different from other festivals, and as a gluten-free person, it is important to be prepared for some good old fashioned American junk food-gluten-free.
    Converting your favorite junk foods to gluten-free may take a bit of creativity, but don't despair, it is possible. There are places offering gluten-free junk food options, but making your own gluten-free junk food is fun and takes the worry out of cross-contamination. The following recipes and suggestions are some American favorites but gluten-free.
    Funnel cakes are originally associated with the Pennsylvania Dutch part of the United States. Funnel cakes are often found at festivals, and popular events. Being gluten-free shouldn't mean the end of enjoying a popular American specialty dessert like funnel cakes, it simply means trying new gluten-free recipes that stand up to the traditional wheat flour cake. The following gluten-free funnel cake recipe is easy and only takes about 30 minutes to prepare. Make your cakes before the big event and take some to share, people won't believe they are gluten-free.

    Gluten-Free Funnel Cake Gluten-Free French Fries
    Don't let the name fool you. French fries are about as All-American as you get and crispy seasoned fries are even better. Try the following recipe for a yummy gluten-free seasoned french fry recipe.

    Ingredients
    2 1/2 pounds russet potatoes, peeled 1 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour  1 teaspoon gluten-free garlic salt  1 teaspoon gluten-free onion salt  ¾  teaspoon  Himalayan salt  1 teaspoon gluten-free paprika  ½ to 1 cup water (add as needed) 1 cup vegetable or olive oil for frying
    Directions
    Slice potatoes into French fries size. If you prefer thicker french fries, cut your fries in larger pieces, and place into cold water so they won't turn brown while you prepare the oil. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. While the oil is heating, sift the flour, garlic salt, onion salt, Himalayan salt, and paprika into a large bowl. Gradually stir in enough water so that the mixture can be drizzled from a spoon. Dip potato slices into the batter one at a time, and place in the hot oil so they are not touching at first. The fries must be placed into the skillet one at a time, or they will clump together. Fry until golden brown and crispy. Remove and drain on paper towels. Gluten-Free Waffle Cones
    Waffle cones are easy to make gluten-free. Ingredients will need to be gluten-free, but there are so many yummy gluten-free options these days when it comes to sweets. Make sure to buy gluten-free waffle cones and gluten-free chocolate sauce and gluten-free whipped cream (homemade is the best) and also gluten-free toppings. Put it all together with your favorite fruit and you have a waffle-cone sundae fit for a celebrity.Have a safe and fun Fourth of July!


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/17/2011 - Memorial Day is dust, and the Fourth of July is bearing down fast! That means the barbecue is likely ready for action, and thoughts of fireworks, sprinklers, swimming pools, and other summer splendor.
    Summer means hot days, cool drinks, and plenty of opportunities for hot dogs, hamburgers, sandwiches, and all the things that go with eating outside. Among other things, that means keeping plenty of gluten-free breads, buns, rolls, and snacks on hand.
    Try these tips to help you and your loved ones have a happy, gluten-free Fourth of July:

    All eyes on the dogs - Hot dogs, that is! And sausages, too. Many hot dogs and sausages contain wheat or gluten. Be sure to read the label. If you're still not sure, bring your own gluten-free hot dogs or sausages. Beware of barbecue sauce! - Since most commercial barbecue sauces contain gluten, beware of anything that comes sauce you haven't screened. Be sure to stock up on your favorite gluten-free barbecue sauce for all of your holiday grilling. Careful with condiments! - Many condiments may contain gluten. Be sure to read the label. If you're still not sure, bring your own gluten-free mustard, or other condiments. Deploy your own gluten-free goodies - If you're attending a holiday party or barbecue with friends, then be sure to bring your own gluten-free goodies. That way, you can make sure you share in the delicious snacks without risking a reaction. A special note for those folks with gluten sensitivity, celiac disease, or food allergies, who will be traveling in California and Florida this summer, might want to check out this story on the industry-leading role Disney is playing in providing safe food information and choices for their patrons. For those celebrating locally, be sure to check out our fabulous summer recipes. First up, we have a recipe for lime-marinated flank steak with herb salsa that will have you sprinting for the grill.
    We have not one, but two recipes for delicious potato salad. We've even found a festive recipe for okra!
    Want a great no-bake, low calorie dessert? Grab a gluten-free pie crust and whip up a quick fresh peach or strawberry pie.

    Fresh Strawberry Pie
    Ingredients - for each pie:
    1 gluten-free pie shell, baked (8 or 9-inch)
    1 1/4 quart fresh strawberries
    1/2 cup white sugar
    1 tablespoons cornstarch
    1/2 cup boiling water
    1 1/2 ounces strawberry flavored gelatin

    Directions - for each pie:

    Wash, hull and quarter the berries.

    Mix the sugar and corn starch together in a medium saucepan. Be sure to blend corn starch in completely.

    Add boiling water, and stir over medium heat. Once mix thickens, take it off the heat.

    Add gelatin mix, stir until smooth, and cool to room temperature.

    Once mix is at room temperature, gently fold in fresh strawberries.

    Spoon strawberry mix into baked pie shell. Chill until firm. Serve with whipped cream, as desired.**

    Fresh Peach Pie
    Ingredients - for each pie:
    1 pie shell, baked (8 or 9-inch)
    1 cup white sugar
    1/2 cup water
    3 tablespoons cornstarch
    1 tablespoon butter
    2 cups fresh peaches, pitted and mashed
    1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    4 cups fresh peaches - pitted, skinned, and slicedDirections:
    Mix sugar, water, cornstarch, butter, mashed peaches, and cinnamon in a medium saucepan.
    Cook over medium heat until clear and thick. Stir in vanilla.
    In the pie shell, place a layer of sliced fresh peaches, then a layer of glaze, alternating until fresh peaches and glaze are all in the shell.
    Serve chilled.


    Jefferson Adams
    Gluten in Meth? Really?
    Celiac.com 11/25/2016 - First of all, if you are using methamphetamine, gluten is probably the least of your worries. Seriously.
    But what about rumors and articles circulating that suggest that meth contains gluten, and that said gluten might make an already dangerous drug much word for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance? Is there really gluten in meth? The short answer is no, gluten in meth is not a thing. Meth does not contain gluten.
    To the best of our knowledge this latest bit of misinformation comes from an article published in the ThatOregonLife.com, and constitutes an attempt at humor.
    According to the article, "Health experts have today warned that meth found on the streets of Portland has tested positive for gluten, a protein composite normally found in several types of grains, including wheat, spelt, rye, and barley." The article goes on to say that a group called Action on Gluten is working to eliminate gluten from meth within a year.
    According to the article, the group's spokesperson, Simon Krueger explained that "Gluten is not only dangerous, but also highly addictive. When added to meth, an otherwise fairly safe drug, the consequences can be deadly." 
    What some readers may fail to notice, however, is that the article appears in the magazine's "Satire" section, and is undoubtedly tongue in cheek. The article appears alongside other obviously satirical articles, such as one claiming that President-elect Donald Trump has recently announced his plans to build a marijuana-themed hotel in notorious hippy enclave of Eugene, Oregon.
    So, anyone who actually believes meth contains gluten can credit their misconception ThatOregonLife.com.
    Once again, as a public service announcement. People should absolutely not use meth, but meth certainly does not contain gluten.

    Jefferson Adams
    Would You Buy a Gluten-Free House? 
    Celiac.com 06/21/2018 - Would you buy a house advertised as ‘gluten-free’? Yes, there really is such a house for sale. 
    It seems a Phoenix realtor Mike D’Elena is hoping that his trendy claim will catch the eye of a buyer hungry to avoid gluten, or, at least one with a sense of humor. D’Elena said he crafted the ads as a way to “be funny and to draw attention.” The idea, D’Elena said, is to “make it memorable.” 
    Though D’Elena’s marketing seeks to capitalizes on the gluten-free trend, he knows Celiac disease is a serious health issue for some people. “[W]e’re not here to offend anybody….this is just something we're just trying to do to draw attention and do what's best for our clients," he said. 
    Still, the signs seem to be working. D'elena had fielded six offers within a few days of listing the west Phoenix home.
    "Buying can sometimes be the most stressful thing you do in your entire life so why not have some fun with it," he said. 
    What do you think? Clever? Funny?
    Read more at Arizonafamily.com.

×