Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    New TTB Rule Means All Distilled Spirits Can Be Labeled "Gluten-Free"

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      New TTB rule permits gluten-free labeling on distilled spirits made from gluten-containing grains.


    Whisky Collection. Image: CC BY-ND 2.0--Danny Nicholson
    Caption: Whisky Collection. Image: CC BY-ND 2.0--Danny Nicholson

    Celiac.com 10/26/2020 - The U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) has announced a new policy that permits any distilled spirits made from gluten-containing grains to be labeled as "gluten-free." The move follows a ruling by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in July that permits any distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains to be labelled "gluten-free." Previously, both rules permitted gluten-free labeling only on distilled spirits made from non-gluten ingredients, such as grapes, corn or potatoes.

    Following the FDA rule change, the Distilled Spirits Council of the US (Discus), an alcohol industry trade group, urged the TTB to update its policy to match FDA rules. In response, the TTB updated its rule on 13 October. Discus CEO and president, Chris Swonger, welcomed the move, saying that the new rule "...provides additional clarity for consumers and allows for more information to assist them in making informed decisions about what products meet their dietary needs. This policy update also provides greater flexibility for industry members in labeling their products."



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    To match the new policy, the TTB has rewritten the rules for gluten content statements on labels and in advertisements for distilled spirits, wine and malt beverages regulated under the Federal Alcohol Administration Act.

    Under the revised ruling, TTB permits the use of the term "gluten-free" for labeling if the product meets FDA regulations for gluten-free labeling. However, companies are required to follow manufacturing practices that prevent any gluten-containing material from entering the final product.

    Additionally, TTB will continue to allow labels and advertisements for products fermented from gluten-containing grains to declare that the product has been processed to remove gluten. The TTB will require documentation to support the claim.

    It has long been known, and scientifically proven, that distillation removes removes gluten from the final product, and that all distilled spirits are gluten-free. Numerous health professionals and celiac support groups, such as Celiac.com and Coeliac UK, permit the consumption of spirits as part of a gluten-free diet.

    Read more on the TTB ruling on gluten-free labeling for distilled spirits at thespiritbusiness.com

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/22/2020 - We get a lot of questions about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. The safest answer is that alcohol that is brewed or distilled using no gluten ingredients and which is labeled gluten-free is the safest bet. That said, the actual answer is more complex. 
    According to the American Dietetic Association (ADA) all distilled spirits are gluten-free, that is, there is no gluten in the final product of any distilled alcohol. ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including whiskey, bourbon and gin. 
    Also, some people with celiac disease claim to b...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “W...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/24/2020 - The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has issued a final rule to establish compliance requirements for fermented and hydrolyzed foods, or foods that contain fermented or hydrolyzed ingredients, and that bear the "gluten-free" claim. 
    The new rule requires food manufacturers to ensure that products containing fermented, hydrolyzed ingredients meet the definition of “gluten-free” before fermentation or hydrolysis. 
    According to the rule "because gluten breaks down during [fermentation or hydrolysis] and currently available analytical methods cannot be used to determine if these products meet the 'gluten-free' defin...

    Scott Adams
    09/01/2020 - Fresh from an FDA ruling that distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as “gluten-free,” the Distilled Spirits Council (DISCUS), the trade body for America’s spirits, is now pressing the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) change their policies to align the the FDA, and to permit all distilled products to be labeled as "Gluten-Free." 
    The FDA's new ruling says that the distillation process removes all gluten from the finished product, even if the original ingredients contained gluten.
    The ruling is consistent with the advice of numerous allergy and nutrition groups, including Celiac...