Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Top Brands of Gluten-Free Ginger Beer

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Find your favorite gluten-free ginger beer in a flash with this handy list of top gluten-free ginger beer brands.


    Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--Kaarina Dillabough
    Caption: Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--Kaarina Dillabough

    Celiac.com 11/25/2020 - Ginger beer is basically ginger ale that is fermented into an alcoholic beverage. True ginger beers are made with sugar, ginger and water, and nothing else! Most top brands of ginger beer are made the old fashioned way and are gluten-free.

    However, not all brands of ginger beer are gluten-free. These brands of ginger beer go the extra mile to make sure their products are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.

    Top Gluten-Free Ginger Beer Brands



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Barritt's Original Ginger Beer
    Barritt's is available in two versions: Barritt's Original Ginger Beer, and Barritt's Sugar Free Ginger Beer, sold in cans, bottles and small bottles. Both Barritt's Original Ginger Beer, and Barritt's Sugar Free Ginger Beer are gluten free.

    Bundaberg Ginger Beer
    Bundaberg Ginger Beer gluten free and does not contain any barley, malt extract, wheat products or hops.

    Cock'n Bull Ginger Beer
    Invented by Jack Morgan, owner of the famous Cock'n Bull restaurant in Hollywood, California, Cock'n Bull Ginger Beer was part of Morgan's original Moscow Mule! All natural ingredients, real sugar and ginger root extract give this English-style ginger beer its distinctive spicy flavor. Cock'n Bull Ginger Beer is gluten-free.

    Fever-Tree Premium Ginger Beer
    Unlike other ginger beers, Fever-Tree Premium Ginger Beer is not too sweet, which makes it a great mixer for Moscow Mules. Naturally sourced and made with three types of ginger from Nigeria, Cochin and the Ivory Coast, it’s a great middle-of-the-road choice that’s sure to satisfy any palate. Unlike other brands, this one’s particularly smooth too.

    Hollows & Fentimans Ginger Beer
    Inspired by Thomas Fentimans original recipe, Hollows & Fentimans alcoholic ginger beer is made using all natural ingredients and is certified gluten free.

    Old Jamaica Ginger Beer
    Old Jamaica Ginger Beer comes in Regular, Light, and Extra Fiery Zero Sugar. All Old Jamaica Ginger Beer is gluten-free.

    Reed’s Ginger Beer
    Reed’s Jamaican-style Ginger Beer contains a blend of fresh ginger, pineapple juice, lemon juice, lime juice, honey and spices. Reed's comes in Original, Extra and Sugar-Free Extra (with double ginger), and Strongest with quadruple ginger. All versions of Reed’s Jamaican-style ginger beer are gluten-free, and contain no GMO’s, Preservatives, or Caffeine.

    Regatta Ginger Beer
    Regatta Ginger Beer is unique for brewing their ginger beer using an authentic Bermuda tradition, which uses stone crocks to ferment both Caribbean and African ginger to with sugar, water and yeast. This creates a brew that has the normal bit of ginger beer without the peppery “ginger burn” found in many Caribbean-styled ginger beers.

    Stoli Ginger Beer
    Vodka maker Stolichnaya brews both regular and diet ginger beer. Made with ginger extract and other all-natural flavors, this mixer has zero calories and is gluten free.

    With literally dozens of varieties of ginger beer coming on the market, it's likely we've missed a few worthy additions to our list of gluten-free ginger beer. If we missed one of your favorites, let us know in the comments section.

    Two More Ginger Beer Cocktails
    Since at least the 1940s, ginger beer has been a staple in numerous cocktails. Besides the aforementioned Moscow Mule, two more favorite ginger beer cocktails include:

    Dark n’ Stormy
    As the second most popular ginger beer cocktail in the USA, the dark n’ stormy is gaining recognition. To make this cocktail, mix ginger beer with dark rum and serve over ice. Add a splash of lime juice if you’re feeling fancy.

    Añejo Highball
    If you're looking to move away from the classic summer margarita; this might just be the best choice. The añejo highball requires ginger beer to be mixed with bitters, orange curaçao, aged rum and lime juice, then served over ice in a highball glass.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/14/2016 - It's almost October, and that means beer, or, at least it means Oktoberfest is near. And in so many ways, gluten-free beer lovers have never had it better, with dozens of selections now available commercially, and more on the way every month, it seems.
    So grab a beer, and celebrate Oktoberfest. But before we get to the list of beer purveyors, let's quickly review some basics of gluten-free versus gluten removed.
    Naturally Gluten-free Beers—Naturally gluten-free beers are made with all gluten-free source ingredients, and use grains like sorghum instead of barley. This is important to many people, especially those with high s...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/16/2019 - Here are some of the most common questions we get about gluten-free alcoholic beverages.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, under US labeling law, beverages made from ingredients containing wheat, rye, or barley, cannot be labeled or advertised as 'gluten-free.'So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process. You'll find an extensive list of gluten-free alcohol, booze and liquor here.
    Gluten Sensitivity Can Vary ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/26/2020 - The U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) has announced a new policy that permits any distilled spirits made from gluten-containing grains to be labeled as "gluten-free." The move follows a ruling by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in July that permits any distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains to be labelled "gluten-free." Previously, both rules permitted gluten-free labeling only on distilled spirits made from non-gluten ingredients, such as grapes, corn or potatoes.
    Following the FDA rule change, the Distilled Spirits Council of the US (Discus), an alcohol industry trade group, urged...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 11/24/2020 - We get more than a few questions about beer. One question we see a lot is about ginger beer. Specifically, is ginger beer gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? 
    Ginger beer is a popular cocktail mixer, and a key ingredient in the currently popular Moscow Mule cocktail. Perhaps because of the word 'beer' in the name, many people with celiac disease wonder if ginger beer gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease to consume.
    The answer is that most all true ginger beer is naturally gluten-free. That said, there are plenty of imposters, so read labels and beware. True ginger beer made with s...