No popular authors found.

Get's E-Newsletter


No categories found.

Ads by Google:

Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!


Distillery Under Fire for Labeling Vodka and Gin as "Gluten-free" 06/18/2015 - An Irish distillery has run afoul of regulatory authorities over labels that tout its gin and vodka as "gluten-free." The artisanal, Cork-based, St Patrick's Distillery claims it is a common misconception that all gin and vodkas were gluten-free.

Photo: CC--Toukou SousuiThe company claims that, since its products are made with gluten-free ingredients, its labels are accurately distinguishing its vodka and gin from other products made with wheat. However, after numerous complaints, the Food Safety Authority of Ireland plans to follow up on the distillery's claims.

The FSAI points out that all distilled beverages are gluten-free, calls the claims misleading, and says the company could be in breach of strict Irish food-labeling laws.

A spokesperson for the FSAI said: "Under the Food Information for Consumers Regulation, the food information must not mislead the consumer by suggesting that the food possess special characteristics when, in fact, all similar foods (in this case, vodka and gin) possess such characteristics."

Niamh O'Connor, who runs Cork Nutrition, said she that she was incredulous about the company's claims.

Ads by Google:

"It is an absolute indisputable fact that distilled spirits are gluten-free, even if gluten-containing grains are used as a raw ingredient," said O'Conner. "Therefore…all gin and vodka products are gluten-free so one cannot label their own product as "gluten-free."

Ireland's Coeliac Society, which supports people with the food intolerance, described the claims from St Patrick's Distillery as "unhelpful".

"Wine, spirits, and cider are gluten free," said the society's Gráinne Denning.

In addition to labeling their gin and vodka as "gluten-free," the company also refers to their new range of spirits as being lactose free. Of course, all distilled spirits are naturally dairy free and lactose free.

What do you think? Are such labels helpful, or misleading?

Share your thoughts below. welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).

Related Articles

17 Responses:

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
18 Jun 2015 6:23:40 PM PST
I think this labeling IS helpful. Some vodkas etc. have additives that might make them not gluten free (like flavorings). If all spirits were labeled it would just make it easier. We aren't all food experts. And we have all had the experience of finding gluten in something that should be naturally gluten free.

Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 3:49:05 AM PST
Oops. I meant to say a PhD chemist, not physicist, in my above comment. Here is the link to explain why ALL alcohol made from glutenous grains contains gluten:

( Author)
said this on
22 Jun 2015 12:21:35 PM PST
They are mistaken, as distillation removes all traces of gluten.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
23 Jun 2015 12:45:04 PM PST
This view does not represent the scientific consensus, or the view of most celiac support organizations. It is nearly universally proven and accepted that distillation removes all traces of gluten, and that all pure distilled spirits are gluten-free, unless gluten is added after distillation.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 10:31:57 AM PST
Sue is absolutely correct. I had a terrible experience with one shot of a root beer flavored vodka (not from consuming too much, I should add) and researched later (since the label indicated nothing) only to find that the additive did contain gluten. Similar with other foods that should be "naturally" gluten free, all spirits are NOT created equal. If something is truly gluten free, and the manufacturer wishes to attract a consumer who cares about such things (like me and my non-celiac family members and friends who support my special needs), PLEASE feel free to label it as such!!

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
23 Jun 2015 12:47:00 PM PST
You answered your own question. The culprit for you was flavoring added after the fact, NOT the pure distilled spirit, itself. Pure spirits are gluten-free. Additives and flavorings may not be. Buyer beware!

Brenda Loughnane
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 8:35:39 AM PST
I find this article very interesting and I think the company should be allowed to label the product GF. I myself have been ill after drinking Baileys, which contains whiskey.
This is a quote from Baileys' website "The ingredients used in Baileys are Gluten free. On the basis of this and to the best of our knowledge there are no traces of Gluten in Baileys. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a Gluten free diet should consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys."
I note that they say "to the best of their knowledge", which, to me, indicates that they do not run tests for gluten.

Another article I found interesting is from 2009 by No Gluten, No Problem. They are indicating that the problem with gluten found in spirits is from after distillation. The gluten gets in the product via cross-contamination and distillation practices by the company.

My personal opinion is that there could be trace amounts and that the distillation process makes alcohol safe only for "most coeliacs" and therefore is deemed gluten free by all organisations. The only time I would contradict this is if a product is solely using naturally gluten free ingredients and not making any other gluten containing ingredients in their factory.

I was diagnosed a hyper-sensitive coeliac (by The Royal Free Hospital in London) and cannot tolerate any trace amounts. They advised me, as I was still ill after 1 year of a gluten free diet, to avoid anything that contained the Codex Wheat Starch (Codex Alimentarius), which I knew nothing about at the time. I find the coeliac organisations and companies promoting products that are safe for "most" coeliacs an absolute insult to the coeliacs that cannot tolerate these foods or drinks of which a high proportion contain some form of gluten. Now in the UK they do not even have to declare it on the label, if it is 20ppm or less, as it is considered safe!! So, I have to eat something and then get extremely ill and then I know it contains a small amount of gluten.
I would like to ask that if everyone who is hyper sensitive like myself, please campaign to whomever you can to get coeliac/celiac disease graded as they have done with other diseases. For example, Grade/Type 1 for those who are hyper sensitive, Grade/Type 2 for "most coeliacs", Grade/Type 3 for medically diagnosed gluten intolerance or allergy. I think that this will help all of us whatever our Grade/Type, ensure that organisations and companies treat us all as individuals and not place us under their "umbrellas" and hopefully manufacturers will label their products accordingly.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 8:52:28 AM PST
I have to agree with Sue here. I get tired of reading labels. If it is gluten free, I love to see it big on the front. So much easier.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 9:25:45 AM PST
I also think the labeling is helpful. Makes shopping easier.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 9:42:15 AM PST

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 10:38:32 AM PST
I have reactions to distilled alcohols in the past. I don't believe that distilling ingredients removes the effect. I had selectively removed beer and certain vodkas from my diet long before I heard about gluten intolerance. I just knew that if I drank them, I would be sick.

I was amazed when I finally figured out that the vodkas I had eliminated long before knowing anything about gluten, were those that were grain based. Potato vodka didn't have the same effect.

I would like to know if my alcohol is made with gluten containing ingredients because it MAKES a difference to me.

Elizabeth Drew
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 10:42:31 AM PST
I welcome the labeling, as I have found that one cannot assume that a product that should logically be gluten free actually is. When I was diagnosed with celiac disease in Ireland, I was informed by the dietitian that Smirnoff Vodka (the most commonly available brand there) was not gluten free due to some aspect of the way it was processed. I have also been told that some whiskey distillers add small amounts of barley mash into the finished product to enhance the flavors, although I imagine this practice must be rare. Also, when flavorings are added to distilled spirits, there is usually no information about ingredients, let alone potential allergens, listed on labels.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 1:22:12 PM PST
I am not going to argue about the presence of gluten in vinegar or alcohol products, but I have a bad enough allergy to wheat and grains to react badly to any vinegars or alcoholic drinks that have been made from grains. So I would like to see more labeling, but since gluten free only imparts some information, would rather see grain free on labels as well.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 3:53:06 PM PST
I DEFINITELY still react to the distilled final product when gluten containing ingredients are used. So do many other sensitive celiacs like me. It would be nice to not have to call each company and/or do tons of 'net research to find out which drinks I can tolerate. I'm all for labeling that tells me not only about ingredients but also manufacturing and chance of CC right on the label. Wouldn't that be refreshing... Kind of like a nice cold mixed drink.

Peter Nowee
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
22 Jun 2015 11:44:43 PM PST
In this environment of cross-contamination and blurring boundaries between food categories, there should be no obstacle for any food producer that is sure that his food is gluten free, to label it as such.

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
16 Nov 2015 10:45:02 PM PST
I would also like to have the ingredients on the all labels. Distilling has no effect, which I found out the hard way that not all vodkas are made from potatoes. I had a horrible reaction to a drink and it has taken weeks to recover from it. Label label label!

Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 Dec 2015 12:24:08 AM PST
CAUTION! NO! Not all pure spirits are Gluten Free! See my below explanation. Labels help and so I say; PLEASE ALLOW THEM TO LABEL IT! It is so much easier!
I would love to add a very relevant comment in here about BOURBON. someone mentioned the barley mash in whiskey being added back in earlier - this is TRUE more times than not with Bourbon.
Often made from corn or corn AND wheat / barley - bourbon is NOT necessarily gluten free. Why? Because they ADD THE SOUR MASH BACK IN for flavour! This is what makes a bourbon, well a bourbon, and not whiskey. This means, that even pure, distilled bourbon can gluten - and LOTS of it!
Bourbon is a spirit. Just like Whiskey, vodka, gin and rum. However, because of the practice of adding the sour mash back into the distilled product before bottling bourbon is often NOT gluten free.
This is for PURE bourbon, bourbon that has had no added "flavouring", and nothing else added. As the sour mash being added back is not considered an added flavour, but rather just a part of the process.
I think it is VERY helpful to label products that are Gluten Free as Gluten Free! Eliminate the guess work.

Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:

In's Forum Now:

In Austin, Wildwood Bakehouse and Wilder Wood Restaurant are totally gluten free. I had the chicken fried steak and gravy and onion rings!!! Awesome!!!

If you yourself have Celiac's disease, you probably shouldn't give gluten-free sandwiches to the homeless, because they're disgusting. Your male neighbor doesn't need tampons. That sort of reasoning should be applied. But you must always remember that the Gospel requires you to treat other people...

Hi there I have this exact same thing.. however I don?t have celiac that I know of.. I found this when google searching for what the heck is wrong with my face. I was wondering if you ever found out.. or if it just went away. Thanks

I have read the newbie 101 and have been careful about reading labels. I'm the only one that's gluten free in my household, so they could be contaminating me. I was eating gluten for 6 weeks after my blood test because it took that long to get an official diagnosis and my GP told me to still be e...

Hi and Welcome to the Forum. I am glad that you are here! As with a lot of things in life, try not to compare yourself to other people. You are trying to be the best version of yourself - not Jill, Annie, or Maya. People make a lot of foolish decisions in the world and it does not mean tha...