No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter




Ads by Google:


Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!



SHARE THIS PAGE:
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Hearty Vegetarian Chili (Gluten-Free)

Celiac.com 02/12/2016 - Whether you're looking to make a big impact at your next potluck, or just looking to feed a small army of hungry mouths without working too hard, this hearty vegetarian chili has you covered.

Photo: CC--Erik BurtonIngredients:

  • 2 cans black or pinto beans (15 ounces each)
  • 8 fresh tomatillos
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 can tomatoes in purée, coarsely chopped
  • ½ cup canned or frozen corn
  • ½ cup vegetarian broth
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons garlic, minced
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup thinly sliced carrots
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder, to taste
  • 1 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch of ground cayenne pepper, to taste

Directions:
In a large stock pot, heat oil over medium heat.

Add onion and garlic and cook 2 to 3 minutes, stirring often, until onion starts to soften.

Ads by Google:

Add bell peppers and carrots, and cook 5 to 6 minutes, stirring often, until carrots and peppers soften a bit.

Add chili powder, cumin, salt and ground red pepper, and cook for another minute or so, stirring well.

Add tomatillos and zucchini, and cook until tomatillos soften, about 10 minutes, stirring often.

Stir in remaining ingredients. Raise to a boil, and then reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 20 minutes.

Uncover and simmer another minutes or so, stirring occasionally, until sauce has thickened and vegetables are tender to a fork.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).












Related Articles



1 Response:

 
Brian
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
13 Feb 2016 11:59:55 AM PDT
Chicken broth is not vegetarian.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Thanks, I appreciate the insight. I will just play it safe and stop eating that type of granola bar. If you have any other advice or comments I would love to hear it. Thanks so much!

Some of that brand are gluten-free , but they will say they are. Some of their bars are not gluten-free because they do not use gluten-free oats. If you are eating non- gluten-free oats or products made with them, there is a possibility that some are actually gluten-free and som...

I know. this will be my first celiac diagnosed halloween. ever where I go I see kit kats which were my favorite. I plan to get some m&m for myself. I still hear from people that 1 won't hurt you, but they don't understand .

Hey, I have a sensitivity to gluten, and I have been gluten free for a while. Today I started having a terrible cramp that I?ve learned I only get when I have had something with gluten in it. Recently I?ve eaten a nature valley whole grain granola bar, I wasn?t sure when I began eating them ...

Thank you! I?ll Get retested.