No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter




Ads by Google:



Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Are Distilled Vinegars Made from Wheat Safe?

White vinegar or just plain vinegar are typically distilled, and, if so, are gluten-free. Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things. Most in the USA are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all safe (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegars that are made from wheat are probably gluten-free because of the distillation process described in Frederik Willem Janssens article on this site.

Distilled vinegar made from wood are gluten-free. Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods.

Ads by Google:

Flavored vinegars are made with white, distilled vinegar, and flavorings are then added. Some of these may also not be gluten-free (the cheapest vinegars are used since the flavors are masked by the herbs and flavoring).

Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free.

Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten-free.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).





Spread The Word







Related Articles



15 Responses:

 
Dianna Beegle
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
06 Dec 2007 8:09:55 AM PDT
Thank you for clearing up question. Printed and will keep.

 
Nan Rosendale
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
12 Feb 2008 11:21:48 AM PDT
I had heard all vinegar may have wheat. Thank you for this information.

 
Susan Bellomo
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
28 Jun 2008 10:25:59 AM PDT
Thank you for clarifying whether certain vinegars are safe (gluten-free) and why.

 
H A
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
21 Apr 2010 11:54:58 AM PDT
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this for all of us to use!!

 
Kris
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
24 Apr 2010 1:16:34 PM PDT
Thanks. I was wondering if ricotta cheese made with distilled vinegar was gluten-free and this cleared up the question.

 
Regina
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
02 Oct 2010 12:15:07 PM PDT
Whenever I have a question, I know I can find the answer on the Celiac.com website. Thank you for all your time in creating this website.

 
Jean Vancil
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
09 Oct 2010 10:53:49 AM PDT
Celiac can be so confusing, thank you for adding to my diet possibilities.

 
Terry Kott
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
09 Sep 2011 2:14:07 PM PDT
Thank you for helping a person who is very sensitive to gluten. Even if products are labeled "gluten free", I still will not buy them if the building or equipment used to process them has processed gluten-containing products.

 
Ryan
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
05 Nov 2011 1:25:16 PM PDT
Same here, had reaction too many times with such labeled foods.

 
Todd
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
17 Jan 2012 6:27:32 AM PDT
I have had reaction to products that simply said vinegar, but did not notice any effect when a product said distilled vinegar like with Heinz ketchup.

 
Gordon
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
02 Apr 2013 8:10:55 PM PDT
Unless it describes the type of vinegar, assume it is not from corn. Not giving information is not a description. If the manufacturer does not know where it came from, don't eat it and tell the company why!

 
Cindi
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Aug 2013 4:47:56 PM PDT
Unfortunately, corn is GMO and now contaminating vinegar. GMOs are contributing to stomach problems.

 
JP Axelsson

said this on
12 Mar 2014 6:00:11 AM PDT
I found this written by Jane Anderson "Vinegar — yes, even vinegar from gluten grains — tests well below the less than 20 parts per million gluten threshold that is considered "gluten-free" in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Europe. So those who say vinegar is gluten-free are correct ... it qualifies for that distinction based on testing results.

But those who say they react to gluten grain-based vinegar are not imagining their reactions, either. A substantial minority of people with celiac and gluten sensitivity react both to distilled alcohol and distilled vinegar that are originally derived from gluten, even though most experts agree those substances are "gluten-free."

It's not clear what percentage of people this involves — there haven't been any studies on it — but it's enough that I advise those who are newly diagnosed to proceed very carefully when dealing with those types of alcohol and vinegar until they can determine for themselves whether they react or not."

 
Tammie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 May 2015 9:06:28 AM PDT
I am one of those people that reacts to distilled vinegar or alcohol which originate from grain. Less than 20ppm is NOT gluten free. I fought against the FDA when they were asking for input on GF labeling for this purpose. Sadly, for me just because a product is labeled GF doesn't mean it really is in my world and I still have to read the ingredients first.

 
Sarah
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
19 Dec 2016 7:17:40 PM PDT
Thanks for stating that plain vinegar is typically distilled. I've seen several sites that say plain vinegar on the label is supposed to be apple cider vinegar. I've reacted to products having just "vinegar" listed on the label.rnrnIs distilled vinegar made more commonly from barley than from wheat? If someone were to react to distilled vinegar, and that person doesn't have a corn allergy, would barley be the next most likely culprit? Thanks!




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:

All Activity
Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

Hi Allie and welcome First off, I know 3 years was a long wait, but at 17 you've figured out celiac way before many people do. That should make a big impact on minimising its effects and helping you with the diet, so, bizarrely enough, congratulations! A lot of good advice has been brought together in this thread: Don't worry that your symptoms are bad now. As you follow the diet your body will begin healing itself and you're still very young so hopefully this will go really smoothly. Think in terms of the next 6 months rather than weeks however, recovery will likely take a little time. Eat as healthily as you can, lots of whole foods and try to avoid the gluten free processed substitutes as your digestive system needs all the help it can get at this moment. You may want to avoid dairy as well for now and think about reintroducing it later. This site has been really helpful to me and others. I hope you find it just as useful. Best of luck! ps, your increased reaction to gluten during the challenge phase was perfectly normal. Many find that reintroducing it much worse than the initial affects and take some time to get over the challenge. That's why you'll see lots of posts here urging folks to 'stay on gluten' till their testing is complete!

Hi! My daughter is 19 was diagnosed at age 16. It took about 12-18 month s for her to fully heal from the damage and feel "normal" again. Also because of the damage done she had reactions to dairy, so you may want to try no or minimum dairy until youre fully healed. Just a suggestion. Hope you start feeling well soon!

Hi yall! New to this blog, but really glad it exists because I have lots of questions. First off, I'm Allie! I'm 17 and newly diagnosed Celiac after about 3 years of searching for answers. I initially went gluten-free on the recommendation of a friend, I felt better in about a month and then my pediatric gastroenterologist had me do the gluten challenge, and my symptoms were the worst they have ever been, and ones I barely noticed before became very present. I did the biopsy and was diagnosed, it's been about 2 weeks and my symptoms are still pretty bad, although my diet has no known sources of gluten or cross contamination. Wondering if anyone has any input on healing post gluten challenge, any tips or how long it took for you would be quite helpful! Thanks

Might want to look into a keto diet, I have UC on top of celiacs and keto is working great Yeah I have major nerve and brain issues with gluten, gluten ataxia with nerve issues and brain issues. Seems to cause my body to attack my brain and nerve system. My brain stumbles fogs, and starts looping, the confusion causes me to become really irritable, I call it going Mr Hyde. Like my mind will start looping constantly on thoughts and not move driving me literally mad, or it used to. Now days it is primary the numbness anger but the gut issues and sometimes random motor loss limit me motionless to the floor now days for the duration of the major anger effects. Used to be a lot more mental then painful gut. I did a mental trauma post on it on while back where I came out about all my mental issues with gluten.

^^^^^^ good info, tips and tricks^^^^^^^^^ yes, crumbs will make you sick. also, breathing flour/pancake mix, etc that is in the air because eventually, you're going to swallow some.