CanadianK

Can You Look At My Test Results?

Rate this topic

Hi all

Can someone take a look at my numbers for me and let me know what you think. My doctor said all was fine and I may be sensitive to gluten at times. I've been restricting gluten off and on for up to 2 years now which I know can affect the numbers. Would you do a gluten challenge and get some clearer results or is it safe to say I don't have celiac because of the really low tTransglutam IgA?

Anti- Gliadin IgA 0.8  (neg)

range: Negative less than 0.9

Equivocal .91-1.1

Positive greater than 1.1

tTransglutam IgA  1.7 (neg)

range: Non reactive <2.6

Equivocal 2.6-3.5

Reactive >3.5

Allergy IgE Wheat <0.03 (neg)

range: <0.08 Negative

Allergy IgG-Gluten (Gliadin) 88 (equivocal)

range: >65 Neg

66-90 Equivocal

>90 Elevated

Thanks!

As far as tTg IGA, it is known and documented that celiacs can have a low IgA count to begin with. If your doctor is saying your low ttg IgA is a negative for celiac, he needs to run an "IgA total count" to see if it's normal or deficient.

On the other hand, you don't have to be positive for the IgA tests to be celiac. Looking at your last test (the IgG-Gluten) your numbers are high "equivocal" (which means open to multiple interpretations), and you are 2 shy of "positive". This would lead me to believe that the lab is telling the doctor to look further because some labs may can your 88 positive. That makes me think you should ask for more in depth testing, and an evaluation of your medical history and symptoms. But I would venture to say that it is likely you do have celiac if your symptoms are worse when you eat gluten.

(I am not a medical professional. I'm just giving my interpretation of your lab results as someone who has researched and has celiac. Please do not take my statements as medical advice, they are intended as what I would present to my doctor for further explanation/investigation if I were you.)