This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What is y'all's reaction time when you eat gluten?

Zachm

Zachm Contributor

As for the past year or so, I have been diagnosed, by only a blood test (insurance problems for the past year because I cannot find rates for under $600 a month and I am a college student, but that's not what this is about) I am obviously still waiting to get a definitive answer from a colonoscopy. Anyways, last week I got super excited because I had seen Merci chocolate and did the stupidest thing. I did not check the label and ended up eating 4 or 5 bars (I'm a pig lol) I was all anxious about how hard it was going to hit me, but I went about 48 hours until I got diarrhea, but even then it wasn't as violent as it can be, and usually is. Does it normally take that long? I had always assumed it'd be a thing to happen within 12 hours. I mean, it wasn't a breadstick, but I wont even eat at a restaurant that serves gluten (I actually only eat at home) Thanks guys :)

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

chocominties Rookie

I would say that for me it can be 24-48 hours before I have a reaction, and its proportionate to the exposure.  (More exposure is a faster, more violent reaction.)   There needs to be time for the food to digest.