This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Family Doctor Not Acting On Results

Josina

Josina Newbie

Hello everyone!

I am very new here. I have been battling gluten and lactose intolerance now for the past 8 years. I just learned about Celiac Disease from a neighbour in the past few years. I have been asking my doctor for most of the past 8 years if I could be tested for food allergies. I was very grateful to learn that I was not going crazy. (family not very supportive). I was finally tested for Celiac Disease by blood and my results came back positive. I believe that I have been battling this disease for most of my life. My doctor still believes it is no big deal! After reading on the net and this site, I am realizing that this is very much a big deal.

Would someone please tell me what my next step should be. I have put myself on a Gluten free diet. I know in the past that has worked. I did not realize that shampoo and soaps etc. can harm me. What kind of doctor do I have to see next, and do I really have to have more testing? It seems really insane to have to keep eating foods that will continue to harm me and make me feel horrible?

I also would like to know, does this disease effect moods and depression etc. There seems to be so much info that I am unable to find on the sites that I have been to. I have learned more here than anywhere else. I read that 1 out of 133 North Americans suffer from Celiac Disease!

Thank you!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mouse Enthusiast

Welcome to the forum and here is to your future good health.