Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

horsegirl

Blood Tests Relevant To Me Now?

I've been gluten free since January `07 in hopes of alleviating my symptoms of fibromyalgia,

& it's been very successful. However, after reading many websites like this one, & reading

various books, I'm wondering if I have undiagnosed Celiac (or gluten intolerance of some degree).

So, I've made an appointment with my primary doc, but he can't get me in until late July.

Does anyone know if it's going to be too late to order the blood panels for Celiac disease?

I really don't want to go back on gluten again because the pain is agonizing when I eat it

(muscle & joint pain, horrible fatigue, brain fog). Should I still have him order the tests?

Should I invest in the Enterolab (stool & DNA) tests too? Are they reputable?

Any help is appreciated; I'm new to all of this. Thanks!

Diagnosed Fibromyalgia & osteoarthritis in multiple joints 12/06

Diagnosed gluten intolerant through dietary trials 8/07

Enterolab positive for gluten, casein, soy, egg

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 1,1 (Subtype 6,6)

Gluten free 8/10/07

Casein free 8/27/07

Soy & egg free 9/8/07

Eggs back again (whoo hoo!) 11/08

Diagnosed chronic fatigue syndrome 12/09

Starting various supplements/vitamins in hopes of feeling better!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

As far as I know the blood tests would be pretty unreliable. Maybe if you had numbers that were really bad they would be low, but I wouldn't think it would be worth it.

Enterolab can tell you whether you have the antibodies. They'd be lower as well but they say they can test up to a year gluten free. If you want anything on paper then it would probably be best to go with Enterolab.

Most doctors don't accept them but some do.

Andrea

Enterolab positive results only June 06: