Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Hello,

I'm wondering how many of you sensitive celiacs can eat the millet bread from Deland Bakery with no problems?? Just curious. Because the bread is really good and doesn't seem to bother me. Is anyone eating it now??

THanks


CeeCee

Allergic to: wheat, peanuts and Penicillin

1995 severe anaphylactic reaction to Wheat

Gluten free since Sept. 2006

"Failure is only the opportunity to begin again, more intelligently"--- Henry Ford

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I wouldn't touch it. They have been shown to have some serious problems with gluten contamination in the past. They would have to show some independent testing to prove they have resolved their past problems before I would trust their products.

Be careful out there.


-Colleen

Dx 8/05 via bloodwork and biopsy (total villous atrophy)

13-year old son Dx 11/05 via bloodwork and biopsy

Daughters (16 and 5) have tested negative via bloodwork

A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water. - Eleanor Roosevelt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I've been eating it for over a year at least. I'm pretty sensitive, and I've had no problems whatsoever. It's my favorite bread! I like the millet and flax seed bread a lot!


Katie

Gluten free since July 2005

Lactose Free since 1994

Soy free since May 2007

Dairy free since September 2007

Hypothyroid & Hashimoto

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I was eating the rolls over the summer, was told from the owner of the store they are gluten free, I was having a lot of stomach pain...I called them,[FL, I think] they said they are not Gluten Free, none of the breads are, I was so mad..no wonder they taste great


~Betty

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Well, I just sent an email to Deland. The owner of my local health food store has told me it's gluten free, even though it says it may contain gluten on the packaging. She told me that since the U.S. does not officially recognize millet as a gluten free grain, that is why the statement is on the package. (She said most other countries consider millet to be a gluten free grain.) I know if gluten were an actual ingredient, it would have to be listed on the package. I do not see any variation of wheat, rye, barley or oats or anything close to that on the ingredients list. I'll be interested in what they respond with, and of course, I'll let everyone know what they say!


Katie

Gluten free since July 2005

Lactose Free since 1994

Soy free since May 2007

Dairy free since September 2007

Hypothyroid & Hashimoto

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I was told by the owner of our local health food store that her sister-in-law is a Celiac who is VERY sensitive to gluten and she has been eating the millet bread for a long time with NO symptoms or problems.

So---- who knows what to think ???? :(


CeeCee

Allergic to: wheat, peanuts and Penicillin

1995 severe anaphylactic reaction to Wheat

Gluten free since Sept. 2006

"Failure is only the opportunity to begin again, more intelligently"--- Henry Ford

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I bought some last month at a local health food store in Quakertown Pa. while visiting family. I questioned the owners wife (who is gluten intolerant) about the may contain gluten or yeast label. She said she talked to the company and was told that they put that on their because they have oats in the building and there could be a possibility that the oat flour could be in the air and get in the bread. The ingredients I was told was gluten free. I have eaten several slices with no issues. Sounds like the company has given different people different stories. The store I bought it at said it was their favorite bread for their celiac customers!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi again. I got on a thread at another site from 2005 that said their bread was tested and showed that it contained 20% gluten!! One woman said her husband ate it for 6 months and then started to get very sick. Seems his guts were being destroyed again. It took him months to recover. At the time the label may contain gluten was not on the bread. I e-mailed the company and am waiting for a response. Now that I think of it, after the first slice I tried I felt kind of light-headed. But have eaten a few more and was ok. I am throwing out the loaf. Not taking any chances. There must be contamination going on of some kind.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi again. I got on a thread at another site from 2005 that said their bread was tested and showed that it contained 20% gluten!! One woman said her husband ate it for 6 months and then started to get very sick. Seems his guts were being destroyed again. It took him months to recover. At the time the label may contain gluten was not on the bread. I e-mailed the company and am waiting for a response. Now that I think of it, after the first slice I tried I felt kind of light-headed. But have eaten a few more and was ok. I am throwing out the loaf. Not taking any chances. There must be contamination going on of some kind.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi again. I got on a thread at another site from 2005 that said their bread was tested and showed that it contained 20% gluten!! One woman said her husband ate it for 6 months and then started to get very sick. Seems his guts were being destroyed again. It took him months to recover. At the time the label may contain gluten was not on the bread. I e-mailed the company and am waiting for a response. Now that I think of it, after the first slice I tried I felt kind of light-headed. But have eaten a few more and was ok. I am throwing out the loaf. Not taking any chances. There must be contamination going on of some kind.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I just spoke to someone from Deland Bakery. He told me that there is no wheat, rye, barely or oats in the ingredients. He said they have to put that it "may contain gluten" on the package, as the ingredients they get from outside sources, may be held in an area with gluten. (like gluten could be in the air) He said they test for gluten as well. I think it's just a thing they have to put on the package to cover their butts. I still haven't got a response from the email I sent on their contact us page, but I finally called. He's supposed to email me what he told me too, so we'll see if he does.


Katie

Gluten free since July 2005

Lactose Free since 1994

Soy free since May 2007

Dairy free since September 2007

Hypothyroid & Hashimoto

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Thanks Katie for this info. If Deland Bakery also tests for gluten--- did he happen to mention if their bread passes the gluten free test??? I assume it does. I hope it does. :)


CeeCee

Allergic to: wheat, peanuts and Penicillin

1995 severe anaphylactic reaction to Wheat

Gluten free since Sept. 2006

"Failure is only the opportunity to begin again, more intelligently"--- Henry Ford

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Thanks Katie for this info. If Deland Bakery also tests for gluten--- did he happen to mention if their bread passes the gluten free test??? I assume it does. I hope it does. :)

Your welcome CeeCee! I'm going to assume it does pass, as I said something like "So, if you test for gluten, and it tested positive, it would be on the package or something?" And he said "yes". I haven't ever had any problems eating it, so I think it's safe for me anyways! (I still haven't got an actual email from them...although the guy spoke with an accent, hopefully he got my email address right...)


Katie

Gluten free since July 2005

Lactose Free since 1994

Soy free since May 2007

Dairy free since September 2007

Hypothyroid & Hashimoto

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter