This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need Help Healing My Intestines!

Diana Mary

Diana Mary Newbie

This is my first time posting! I wanted to share my story and ask a few questions about how I can get my health back on track most effectively. I am sure everyone has heard stories and questions like this 5,000 million times, but here goes anyway:

I have had strange mystery symptoms for the past three years. Headaches, fatigue, constant bouts of the flu and sinus infections, acne, allergies, anxiety, and unexplainable mood changes that have grown increasingly worse. Before these symptoms, I lived a very healthy life; although I have always been plagued with hayfever and chronic constipation. But I thought these things were "normal."

When my symptoms grew progressively worse, I began to complain about these new mystery symptoms to my doctors. Over the course of three years I complained to at least four different doctors. Because I am a teacher, each doctor wrote off my symptoms as being stress related or a result of exposure to germy teenagers. Since I was in my mid-twenties and appeared to be in perfect health, they told me to take it easy and to avoid stress. My symptoms grew worse.

Finally, after feeling like I was on the verge of death for so long, I took matters into my own hands and did my own research. All signs kept pointing to Celiac Disease. I begged my doctor for a blood test and my doctor reluctantly agreed (but remained skeptical). It came out positive.