Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

shacon_bacon

I'm So Confused!

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone, I am new to this! I was just diagnosed w/ celiac and I'm sooo confused! I keep reading conflicting things about whats safe vs. unsafe. Things like mayo, vinegar, pickles, mustard, french fries, tortilla chips?

I just don't know...Also, it looks like this cross contamination thing is a pretty big deal I guess huh? I hadn't really considered all that. It's just me and a 5 year old girl who doesn't eat anything (just about!) except chicken nuggets, grilled cheese sandwiches, pb&j's and fruit. I guess I need to be pretty careful about the cross contamination huh?

Everyone has been coming at me with conflicting info. Some people say its ok to sneak a chip here and there, and then others say you shouldn't eat a salad that has even touched a roll? I just don't know...

Any and all advice would be welcome and very much appreciated. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Welcome to the board!

The best way to know if something is safe is to learn how to effectively read labels.

Here are not safe ingredients: https://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

Here are safe ingredients: https://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-...ents/Page1.html

Here is a list of companies that will clearly list all gluten sources. If you don't see wheat/rye/barley/barley malt/oats, then it isn't "hidden." http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/index.htm

Take these lists with you when shopping :)

Vinegar is safe unless its malt vinegar, or occasionally, flavored vinegars. But "vinegar" "apple cider vinegar" "distilled vinegar" etc. are gluten free. https://www.celiac.com/articles/184/1/Ameri...Diet/Page1.html

Wheat must clearly be listed due to new food allergen labeling laws: http://www.childrenshospital.org/clinicals...50Flevel83.html

If you were diagnosed with Celiac, you need to be 100% gluten free, which includes knowing what is in the ingredients and food preparation (i.e., cross contamination). No sneaking, cheating, etc.

"There is currently no treatment for celiac disease apart from a strict, lifelong gluten-free diet." and "However the ingestion of even small amounts of gluten results in damage to the small intestine--regardless of the presence or absence of symptoms--and puts the patient at risk for resulting complications including malignancies and osteoporosis. " http://www.celiacdiseasecenter.columbia.ed...nts/A02-FAQ.htm

Best of luck, and I hope this helps get you started.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Welcome to the board!

The best way to know if something is safe is to learn how to effectively read labels.

Here are not safe ingredients: https://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

Here are safe ingredients: https://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-...ents/Page1.html

Here is a list of companies that will clearly list all gluten sources. If you don't see wheat/rye/barley/barley malt/oats, then it isn't "hidden." http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/index.htm

Take these lists with you when shopping :)

Vinegar is safe unless its malt vinegar, or occasionally, flavored vinegars. But "vinegar" "apple cider vinegar" "distilled vinegar" etc. are gluten free. https://www.celiac.com/articles/184/1/Ameri...Diet/Page1.html

Wheat must clearly be listed due to new food allergen labeling laws: http://www.childrenshospital.org/clinicals...50Flevel83.html

If you were diagnosed with Celiac, you need to be 100% gluten free, which includes knowing what is in the ingredients and food preparation (i.e., cross contamination). No sneaking, cheating, etc.

"There is currently no treatment for celiac disease apart from a strict, lifelong gluten-free diet." and "However the ingestion of even small amounts of gluten results in damage to the small intestine--regardless of the presence or absence of symptoms--and puts the patient at risk for resulting complications including malignancies and osteoporosis. " http://www.celiacdiseasecenter.columbia.ed...nts/A02-FAQ.htm

Best of luck, and I hope this helps get you started.

Now I am confused. I thought distilled white vinegar was made from wheat. I have found I don't tolerate it but can tolerate pure apple cider vinegar. Same with whiskey--I got CC'd just from kissing my boyfriend who had been drinking whiskey. I also understand that the grain alcohol used in tinctures makes herbal tinctures unwise to use.

So what is really what here?


Diagnosed celiac sprue as infant: failure to thrive & pneumonia-back on grains age 4. Began herbs 1971 combating chronic kidney disease/general ill health 1973. Avoid wheat family and "allergens" by 1980. Late 80's doc. diagnosed candida: cave-man diet. Diagnosed degraded myelin sheath 2006; need co-enzyme B vitamins. Discovered celiac fall 2007; finally told diagnosis as infant. Recently found I am salicylic acid intolerant. Ironically can't tolerate most herbs now. Can now eat brown rice & other gluten-free grains (except corn) & even maple syrup & now homeopathic medicine works! Am still exploring the shape of this elephant but I've made progress!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Now I am confused. I thought distilled white vinegar was made from wheat. I have found I don't tolerate it but can tolerate pure apple cider vinegar. Same with whiskey--I got CC'd just from kissing my boyfriend who had been drinking whiskey. I also understand that the grain alcohol used in tinctures makes herbal tinctures unwise to use.

Most whiskeys have malt added in at the end, so they're definitely not gluten-free. Vinegar - even that made from gluten grains - is generally considered safe since the gluten is removed in the distilling process. Seems that some very sensitive celiacs may react to it, though.

OP - yes CC is a huge issue. One crumb of gluten is enough to make a celiac sick which is why you can't eat a salad that's had a roll on top. As for sneaking a chip here and there - some celiacs do, usually those who don't get very sick or have noticeable symptoms. That doesn't mean you're not doing damage, though! And the occasional cheat will set you up for life long health problems.

As for your safe vs unsafe list of mayo, pickles, french fries, etc, it depends on the brand. Most Ore Ida fries are gluten-free except the seasoned ones. Most restaurant fries are cooked in the same oil as breaded products so they're a no. Heniz ketchup is ok, French's mustard, Vlasic (and Milwaukee's - they're owns by Vlasic) pickles. Kraft labels gluten in their products so if it doesn't say gluten on the label it's safe.


Gluten-Free since September 15, 2005.

Peanut-Free since July 2006.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hello everyone, I am new to this! I was just diagnosed w/ celiac and I'm sooo confused! I keep reading conflicting things about whats safe vs. unsafe. Things like mayo, vinegar, pickles, mustard, french fries, tortilla chips?

I just don't know...Also, it looks like this cross contamination thing is a pretty big deal I guess huh? I hadn't really considered all that. It's just me and a 5 year old girl who doesn't eat anything (just about!) except chicken nuggets, grilled cheese sandwiches, pb&j's and fruit. I guess I need to be pretty careful about the cross contamination huh?

Everyone has been coming at me with conflicting info. Some people say its ok to sneak a chip here and there, and then others say you shouldn't eat a salad that has even touched a roll? I just don't know...

Any and all advice would be welcome and very much appreciated. Thank you!

Hi shacon_bacon,

Welcome to the forums. :) You are at the right place.

Is you daughter also exhibiting signs of gluten sensitivities. It can be really hard, which I'm sure some members will agree, when you are the only one in the house with it. Just make sure you do little things like "wash" your hands, if you prepared something for your daughter (gluten lurks in a lot of places) so to speak :)

Use the web links the others recommended, I also recommend this book at this link, it's written by a dietician has tons for what is safe/not, as well as recipes and who sells what under what label as " gluten-free " http://www.glutenfreediet.ca/

Yes it is confusing and very overhelming. But, you will get there. You've been eating gluten a long time. Its going to take a month or so, before you know you are completely gluten free. Usually feeling better is the first step.

hugs (you'll make it through :) it just takes practice)


44 yr old mom, SAHM (stay at home; aka a Retro Mama :D , 2 special needs kids dd 15yrs ds 4 yrs

Follows Compassion Rules "Treat others; they way you wish to be treated"

blood test negative: celiac However, doctor felt other factors in blood works warranted trying the gluten-free diet

April 7/08 Doctor confirms gluten intolerance/ remain gluten-free for 2 more months; and repeat tests

Gluten free since March 4/2008 (other than accidently, or unknown gluten used--- its a learning process, Gluten is everywhere!)

"People are like stained-glassed windows. Best viewed in the light!" unknown author

"I am only as strong as the coffee I drink, and the hairspray I use" :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter