Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Kraft/landolakes Cheese


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 Cindy71

 
Cindy71

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2004 - 08:40 AM

I was told by someone that deli counter cheese & meets were safe (by someone in a celiac disease support group). I called Land-o-lakes and was told that their American cheese is not gluten-free. She said the natural cheeses are gluten-free. I've read that Kraft products are gluten-free (and that they have a food list) but I can't find anything on their website that tells you. Does anyone have any info about this?
Thank you-
Cindy :rolleyes:
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2004 - 08:55 AM

MOST deli meats are gluten-free but not all. Boar's Head has two that aren't and Sara Lee has a few that aren't (they'll send you a list if you call or e-mail). In addition, if you're having them slice them there at the counter, you need to get them to clean the slicer first. Most places will do this with no problem but I try to go when they aren't busy.

I wonder what's in the American cheese. I've never heard of one with gluten.

Kraft does not have a list, but they do something even better. If a product has gluten in it, it will be clearly listed on the label as wheat, rye, barley or oats. All you have to do is read the ingredients.

richard
  • 0

#3 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2004 - 08:58 AM

Kraft doesn't have a food list. Their American cheese is, however, gluten-free. I use it all the time for grilled cheese. I also use Kraft parmesan cheese and mozzarella. All gluten-free........


By the way, you can tell if Kraft products are gluten-free by looking at the label. Just look for wheat, barley, malt, rye, etc. anywhere on the label. Natural and artificial flavors are gluten-free unless they say: natural flavors (wheat) or something.
  • 0

#4 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 25 August 2004 - 10:53 AM

Diestel makes lunchmeat that's gluten-free,and tasty, though it's a bit pricey
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#5 cdobbs

 
cdobbs

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts
 

Posted 26 August 2004 - 04:46 PM

this is what kraft told me

We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate information about foods to help plan their meals and diets. Therefore, it has been a long standing policy for all Kraft and Nabisco products to list items that contain gluten on the package ingredient statement. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient 'natural flavor' contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye) Other ingredients that contain gluten are: Triticale, Spelt, Kamut, Mir or Farina (also known as Far or Farro).

For Kraft products that contain Vinegar, information from our vinegar suppliers assures us that the vinegar we use in our products is gluten free.
All vinegar is distilled and through the distilling process protein is removed.

If you would like additional information or to view our Gluten Fact Sheet please visit our website, www.kraftfoods.com and type gluten in the "Search Kraft" box.

I hope this assist you in making food choices that are appropriate for your personal needs. If you have additional questions about your personal dietary needs, please consult your doctor or a registered dietitian.

Please add our site, http://www.kraftfoods.com/, to your bookmarks and visit us again soon!
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: