This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Nacho Cheese

jlbroyles23

jlbroyles23 Rookie

I am assuming I screwed up today. I was at a craft show and of course it's hard to find something not breaded at the concessions. I chose cheese fries for my meal. #1 I'm pretty new at this and I forgot about the fryers being used for other things besides fries and #2 now I am not so sure the nacho cheese was safe. I have been really tired and very irritable since eating them. I am assuming I have been glutened, but was wondering if any one has the same side effects all the time when accidentally glutened or does it vary depending on how much and was it directly or indirectly (cross contam.)? Has anyone had problems with nacho cheese sauce? What is a good thing to choose when at places with concessions or do I just starve!! :unsure:

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

larry mac Enthusiast

A quick search on google confirmed what I already knew. Cheese sauce, including nacho cheese sauce, typically contains flour as a thickening agent and/or filler. I've also discovered that "queso", whether in a bowl as an appetizer, or on a dish such as enchiladas with queso sauce, contains flour. The cheese in cheese enchiladas may not. But the chile con carne sauce usually does. I've only found one mexican restaurant so far that doesn't, and it's not a chain.

Also, the sour cream chicken enchiladas have flour in the sauce at every mexican restaurant I've checked. Bummer.

Check the recipe websites such as epicurious, cooks, recipezar, allrecipes, etc. The nacho cheese sauce recipes contain flour.