3 replies to this topic

#1 jlbroyles23

jlbroyles23

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:40 PM

I am assuming I screwed up today. I was at a craft show and of course it's hard to find something not breaded at the concessions. I chose cheese fries for my meal. #1 I'm pretty new at this and I forgot about the fryers being used for other things besides fries and #2 now I am not so sure the nacho cheese was safe. I have been really tired and very irritable since eating them. I am assuming I have been glutened, but was wondering if any one has the same side effects all the time when accidentally glutened or does it vary depending on how much and was it directly or indirectly (cross contam.)? Has anyone had problems with nacho cheese sauce? What is a good thing to choose when at places with concessions or do I just starve!! :unsure:

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 larry mac

larry mac

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts

Posted 07 September 2008 - 09:30 AM

A quick search on google confirmed what I already knew. Cheese sauce, including nacho cheese sauce, typically contains flour as a thickening agent and/or filler. I've also discovered that "queso", whether in a bowl as an appetizer, or on a dish such as enchiladas with queso sauce, contains flour. The cheese in cheese enchiladas may not. But the chile con carne sauce usually does. I've only found one mexican restaurant so far that doesn't, and it's not a chain.

Also, the sour cream chicken enchiladas have flour in the sauce at every mexican restaurant I've checked. Bummer.

Check the recipe websites such as epicurious, cooks, recipezar, allrecipes, etc. The nacho cheese sauce recipes contain flour.

best regards, lm

gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)