This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newly Diagnosed And Mourning The Loss Of Diet!

Cujy

Cujy Apprentice

Well I am new to this whole celiac thing, and to boot a lactose intolerance. I found out on my 39th birthday! I am terribly upset, and people who say "could have been worse, at least you have an answer" make it worse. I was also one who was called a 'headcase' by doctors after landing in emerg with excrutiating pain and bloody stool, and every test coming back absolutely perfect. Until I paid the outrageous amount to have the bloodtest done, and had a scope and colonoscopy, both of which confirmed my diagnosis.

The food is sooooooo expensive! My family has been ultra supportive and refuses to eat unless there is something that I can eat, which isn't good considering my 12 has had a heart transplant, stroke etc....he can't do the diet. Im sad for them that they are willing to go without for me, I don't want that. Im depressed and find now that I have headaches everyday, and feel nautious, is this normal? Im assuming there is a bit of a grieving process right? Glad I found some other people on here who by the sounds of it feel the same way I do! :( Someone tell me that things will get better, and that the food isn't as horrible as it tastes? Sorry, Im to old to be whining like a baby....My bad.

Angela

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

JustNana Apprentice

Angela,

I think this is one place you can come and be utterly honest about your feelings. No one here is going to judge you.