Do You Have Celiac Disease and Have Questions Or Need Help?
Join Celiac.com's forum / message board and get your questions answered! Our forum has nearly 1 MILLION POSTS, and over 62,000 MEMBERS just waiting to help you with any questions about celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. We'll see you there!
Follow / Share
|Get Email Alerts|
- Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients)
- Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List (Unsafe Ingredients)
- Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
- Celiac Disease Symptoms
- The Gluten-Free Diet 101 - A Beginner's Guide to Going Gluten-Free
- Interpretation of Celiac Disease Blood Test Results
- Is Buckwheat Flour Really Gluten-Free?
The Wonderful Benefits of Gluten-free and Other Flours
Jefferson Adams is a freelance writer living in San Francisco. His poems, essays and photographs have appeared in Antioch Review, Blue Mesa Review, CALIBAN, Hayden's Ferry Review, Huffington Post, the Mississippi Review, and Slate among others.
He is a member of both the National Writers Union, the International Federation of Journalists, and covers San Francisco Health News for Examiner.com.View all articles by Jefferson Adams
Celiac.com 10/30/2015 - Writing for the Times of India, Pooja Makhija has an interesting little article on the various types of flour commonly used in Indian cooking, including a number of gluten-free flours.
The articles features short descriptions of the various commonly used grain flours, and their characteristics. The article includes flours made from wheat, of course, but the gluten free flours include millet, sorghum, amaranth, rice, soy and quinoa.
Wheat Flours (Contain Gluten of course!)
Most of the wheat or atta used in Indian cooking is culled from the semi-hard wheat varieties or durum, including, atta, cracked wheat/lapsi fada and semolina/sooji.
Millet is a small-seeded grass that is also gluten-free. Millet flours are a great option for people with any kind of gluten sensitivity.
Jowar is the Indian name for sorghum, which is also called white millet. This grain, and its close relative, bajra, both belong to the millet family, and are gluten-free.
Jowar has been linked to lowering the risk of heart diseases as well as cholesterol. It also has cancer-fighting properties because of the presence of antioxidants, and brims with protein, calcium and iron.
Bajra is a high energy food that is said to aid digestion, promote good heart-health, and to increase insulin sensitivity, making it a great option for diabetics.
Rajgira is the Indian name for amaranth. Amaranth is a highly nutritious relative of quinoa, and also similarly described as a superfood. This tasty gluten-free grain is high in iron, calcium, protein and antioxidants.
Used a great deal in Indian cooking, including dishes like neer dosa, rice flour is gluten-free, and makes a great substitute for wheat.
Quinoa is a 100% vegetarian reference protein, which means that the body absorbs 100% of quinoa's protein content.
Read more at the Times of India.
Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).
Gluten-free Wheat? Can New Wheat Hybrids Help Celiac Sufferers?
People with celiac disease react to specific proteins in wheat, and a team of scientists from Washington State University are attempting to develop new varieties of wheat that suppress those proteins and are safe for those with celiac disease.... [READ MORE]
Are the New Sorghum Hybrids Safe for People with Celiac Disease?
In the west, sorghum has traditionally been used to feed livestock.... [READ MORE]
Millet is an Untapped Gluten-Free Resource
Despite the fact that millet is more nutritious than wheat, as well as other gluten-free grains, modern science lacks the processing technologies to manufacture it on a large scale.... [READ MORE]
Buckwheat Flour Significantly Improves the Nutrition and Texture of Gluten-free Breads
Buckwheat flour significantly improves the nutrition and texture in gluten-free breads, according to a new study published in the journal Food Hydrocolloids.... [READ MORE]