No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:


Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts
SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

FDA Extends Comment Period for Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods

Celiac.com 03/22/2016 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has extended the period for public comments on a proposed rule for fermented and hydrolyzed foods, or foods that contain fermented or hydrolyzed ingredients, and bear a "gluten-free" claim.

Image: FDA Logo--Wikimedia CommonsFDA is extending the comment period for the proposed rule on gluten-free labeling for fermented or hydrolyzed foods by 60 days.

The agency originally introduced the Proposed Rule for Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods on November 18, 2015. The original public comment period was set to end on February 16, 2016.

Ads by Google:

The new closure date for public comments will be 60 days after a notice appears in the Federal Register. The new rule's Federal Register Docket Number is FDA-2014-N-1021, and the relevant Federal Register Docket Name is: "Food Labeling; Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods."

The proposed rule does not require or establish standards for "gluten-free" labeling. Instead, it establishes compliance methods for fermented and hydrolyzed foods, or foods that contain fermented or hydrolyzed ingredients that bear a voluntary "gluten-free" labeling claim.

Source:

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).










Related Articles



Comments




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Hello. I was wondering what flavor the potato chips were. Some flavors have dairy in them, like sour cream and onion, or ranch, or cheese. Sometimes people with Celiac Disease develop an intolerance, or even an allergy, to dairy which can affect behavior, too. Some chips have flavor enha...

I think this site is a far better source of info and support than any of the Facebook groups I've seen. Its certainly been a great help to me. I found that too much web surfing on some other sites including Facebook just made things more difficult, there are either sites pushing commercial soluti...

Looks like this soup does contain gluten: https://www.chilis.com/docs/Chilis-Allergen-Generic.pdf The page that lists gluten free options does not show the enchilada soup as being gluten free (scroll down a few pages).

Okay, you ordered it online. What does the ingredient label say? I did not even know they made a canned or packaged soup? Or did you order online and picked it up at the restaurant? Maybe there is no gluten at all. Maybe they only use masa flour (corn) as the soup base.

I ordered it online and it was an accident. The store is now closed and the internet is not offering any solutions. The customer service helpline is useless.