KatieB22

Switching to Gluten Free for Toddlers?

Rate this topic

So I'm new to this and I want to add a little back story of my 3 yr olds history. She was born preemie at 4lbs 4oz, she's struggled with weight since then. She is now only 19.2lbs and maybe 2 1/2 foot tall. She doesn't even fall on the charts, not even close to being on them. The GI we did see did all kinds of blood work and stool samples when she was about 5 months old, and the only thing they said was "dairy allergy" and she was dairy free up until about 2 1/2. Her symptoms have always been; bloating, stomach pain, gassy, constipation, failure to thrive, low weight gain, mushy/liquidy stools, very very strong smelling stool, ezcema &rashes, and troubles sleeping. The whole no dairy dirt literally did not impact her symptoms at all-neither negative or positive-. So we switched her back and again adding it back hasn't caused any issues. Well I've done some research and think it's and gluten issue. So today we have started a gluten free diet. Since she is still young is it possible I can see changes sooner than a few months? I am doing the elimination diet rather than getting her tested or having a colonoscopy done because she already has a severe fear of doctors in general. I'm hoping to at least see changes in her stool first. Also anyone who can give advice on getting her to eat  gluten free products or things they did to make the switch easier is much appreciated. I truly believe it is a gluten issue since no one has found anything otherwise. Thank you in advanced!!

Hi Katie,

It's up to you how to handle her testing for celiac disease.  But if you think she has celiac, it is important to keep her eating gluten until the testing is done.  If she goes off gluten before the blood samples are drawn or the endoscopy then the test won't be accurate.  That being said, there is a possibility the testing won't show antibodies anyway, as I think they say it is not always accurate in young children.