This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Two Questions...

imsohungry

imsohungry Collaborator

I was reading through previous posts, and several people said that they use xan. gum "when necessary."

My question is...what would I bake that doesn't need it? It's a binder, correct? I'm trying to improve my baking skills. I'm slowly improving with each attempt, but I need to fully understand everything because cooking is a science (and I majored in psychology...which is totally useless in the kitchen). ;)

Next question,

Dates (not to be confused with nights out on the town with a gorgeous man). B) I purchased Sunmaid chopped dates in the bag, and when I opened them, they were coated in a white substance. Before I toss those dates into my homemade gluten-free granola, I want to identify this white powder coating. Any ideas? Surely it's not mold or something, right? :huh: I called the company, but they are not open until tomorrow.

Please help! (I want my granola cereal for dinner).

Blessings. -J

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ArtGirl Enthusiast

Good question. Maybe someone else has asked Sunmaid that question.

This won't help for tonight, but I did go to the Sunmaid site and asked about the dates. I'll post the answer... if I get one.

Re: Xanthan Gum

It helps trap the little bubbles made by leavening so they don't leave the dough but cause it to rise up and stay up until the dough is cooked and can then hold itself up. So, if the recipe calls for leavening, then you most likely need Xan. or Guar Gum. If the recipe doesn't have leavening in it, you don't need the gums.